We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Jungle Retreat”
other traveller has booked this property
BEDROOM
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
BEDROOM
BEDROOM BEDROOM
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
EXTERIOR
OTHERS
OTHERS
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
daniellet...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Jungle Retreat”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at Villa Toucan. The views were breathtaking and we were able to see some amazing wildlife! I was able to see a monkey for the first time in my life! It was so cool. We also saw a lot of Toucan, and even a few sloths when we were in town!

The property is so close to the beach!

We can't wait to come back next year

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne123...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect Jungle Vacation!”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent 2 wonderful weeks at Villa Toucan, March/April 2016. It was everything we had hoped it would be! Right in the jungle, yet close to the beaches. The view from the deck is breathtaking, with so many birds visiting daily. We had hoped to see a toucan when visiting Costa Rica - well, we saw dozens at Villa Toucan! Keel-billed, chestnut manibled and aracaris. Great Green Macaws we also a thrill to see in the wild! This is THE place to see birds in Costa Rica, no guide required - they come right to the house!
The house itself was perfect for us, and had everything we needed. We loved the outdoor kitchen looking out onto the deck/jungle/Caribbean. The bathrooms are fantastic.. having no wall at the back and facing the jungle, you can watch hummingbirds and red frogs while in the bathroom! We were visited by many very cool bugs, including an awesome hooded mantis that "adopted" us and stayed with us (it's choice) for most of our stay.
Manuel (the property owner) lives nearby and was very helpful. Johanna at Casas del Caribe was wonderful, and arranged our private transport from San Jose, our car rental (recommend renting a 4X4), and ziplining tour as well!
We have compiled a list of birds that we saw right at Villa Toucan:
Gray-headed Chachalaca,Crested Guan,Semiplumbeous hawk,Common Blackhawk,Laughing falcon,Short-billed pigeon,Great Green Macaw,Brown-hooded parrot,Blue-headed parrot,,Red-lored parrot,Mealy parrot,Black and white Owl,Short-tailed Nighthawk,Great Potoo,Long-billed hermit,Violet-crowned Woodnymph,Slaty-tailed Trogan,
Collared Aracari,Keel-billed Toucan,Chestnut-manibled Toucan,Black-cheeked Woodpecker,Pale-billed Woodpecker,Plain-brown Woodcreeper,Great Kiskadee,Masked Tityra,Red-capped Manakin,Clay-coloured Thrush,Passerini's Tanager,Golden-hooded Tanager,Black-headed Saltator,Bananaquit,Variable Seedeater,Summer Tanager,Rose-breasted Grosbeak,Baltimore Oriole,Scarlet-rumped Cacique,Montezuma Oropendola,Great Tinamou (not seen but heard daily),
There were more that we saw but were not able to identify. We saw many other bird species nearby as well - this list is JUST at the house. We enjoyed seeing many types of lizards, geckos, frogs, monkeys and very cool bugs and butterflies.
Thanks Manuel for a great stay at Villa Toucan! We will be back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Birds and other wildlife
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin J
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The True Costa Rica Experience!”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My family and I had such a great time and memorable experience. I was looking for something that would be different that your normal resort experience, and this is a homerun! First, you honestly feel that you are completely in the jungle. The monkeys, toucans, macaws are daily visitors. We had a couple of toucans in the trees just beyond the balcony (which by the way, offers a modest view of the Caribbean. We enjoyed being eyed by a large sloth... who was in the tree about 30 yards from our balcony for 9 hours. The restaurants in the area were all excellent and offered their own wonderful, unique dining experiences. The beach was very nice, although it's my first experience with a goat walking around the sand. Water was real warm. I can't rave enough... it's a different kind of vacation experience that we'll always treasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Indiana
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor showers and trails
Liked least: car needed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Dec 2014
Many thanks! We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AdinStree...
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Real Costa Rica -- not to be missed!”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and I arrived just before dusk after a day of traveling, and met Manuel. I had seen Villa Toucan online when I first started researching Costa Rica options, and then promptly lost the listing (I couldn't remember which zone it was in, but knew we wanted to stay there!). I finally found it after looking through just about every listing online, and was glad I did. We loved it. It was a long drive from the airport in San Jose, but it gave us the opportunity to see so much of the jungle and countryside. And once we got past Limon (which isn't a destination point for tourists!) the ocean views and little towns were great. Driving up to the Villa requires a good vehicle -- 4-wheel drive -- and we knew this, so were prepared. I love roller coasters, to the driveway was actually a blast! The villa itself was just what we'd envisioned from the photos online. It was our first stop on our first trip to Costa Rica, so we couldn't have found a better way to experience the jungle. The howler monkeys came to visit each day as did the rare white bat. I had a scorpion in my bathroom one night, and the little poison dart frog was a frequent visitor in the bathroom, too. It felt like real jungle living and I wouldn't trade those three nights for anything. The birds, the monkeys, the vegetation and beautiful landscaping, all with that little peek of the Caribbean in the distance made this place amazing. Manuel recommended we try the restaurant "next door" (to the foot of the driveway) and it was fantastic (El Refugio). The owner there went out of his way to make us feel very welcomed. The food was delicious. All in all, Villa Toucan was a fantastic way to experience Costa Rica and I hope we can get back there some day. Thanks Manuel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the wildlife, the authentic Costa Rican experience
Liked least: Beds were noisy and not all that comfortable
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2014
Thank You SO much Alan. It was a sincere pleasure meeting the two of you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing