We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Muse-ic to our ears...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedrooms have quiet air conditioning, iPod players and safes for valuables.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedrooms have quiet air conditioning, iPod players and safes for valuables.
2 bedrooms with tall ceilings, restored original hard wood floors, 2 baths, and modern amenities. View of Punta Uva beach near the end of the private beach path. Beach is great for swimming.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Bedrooms have quiet air conditioning, iPod players and safes for valuables.
2 bedrooms with tall ceilings, restored original hard wood floors, 2 baths, and modern amenities.
View of Punta Uva beach near the end of the private beach path. Beach is great for swimming.
Recently remodeled, two-story, two-bedroom, two-bath house w/ private beach access.
View of kitchen from eating area. Tables seats up to 8.
Lush tropical gardens and stone pathways surround the house. Ocean is beyond the trees.
View from the kitchen towards the eating area. Ocean is to the right.
Kitchen with new refrigerator, stove, tiles, and appliances.
View from the kitchen, down the path, to the beach.
Bedrooms look over porch towards the ocean. Plenty of storage space and good light.
Upstairs bathroom: 2 sinks, shower/tub, & hot water (not typical in the area).
Screened-in upstairs porch (ocean is to the right). Relax while listening to the waves and jungle.
Upstairs porch and hallways outside of bedrooms. Ocean is to the right.
Private path from the house to Punta Uva beach.
View of Punta Uva beach from the house's private path.
House is well-lit at night for enjoying dinner, drinks, or moonlight swim.
A huge tree on the property that flowers every 5 years.
Tropical garden with many flowers, fruits, and trees.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ivsail
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Muse-ic to our ears...”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The sound of the ocean waves at night and the jungle sounds were a symphony. We slept very well. Everything at the house was great. We had no problems at all during our 10 nights. It was really great to have the housekeeper do our laundry. Fresh, clean clothes. The house was clean when we got there, and cleaned during our stay.

The beach is a short walk through the jungle, and wonderful when you get there. Quiet and apart from the crowds of Puerto Viejo. Pelicans in the trees and on the water. Walk for miles. Perfect.

A great restaurant is within walking distance, a very nice grocery a few minutes away in Playa Chiquita, and all the tourist hustle and bustle of Puerto Viejo just 10 minutes drive. Perfect.

The wife of one of the mangers is a tour agent, and she set us up with several tours as well as introducing us to some of her friends who were able to give us some special tours and things to do. A great perq. We loved staying here, and will again if we come back to this area...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the beach and local activities while having incredible privacy.
Liked least: Couldn't drink the water, but plenty of bottled water was provided
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thanks for staying with us at Casa de la Musa, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you are very welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steps from the beach”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (wife, two boys aged 9 and 11) stayed at Casa de la Musa for 11 nights in October 2015.

It took some getting used to that the upstairs (screened porch, bedrooms, bathroom) were separated by a lockable door from the downstairs (dining table, kitchen, another bathroom, another shower). It felt like two distinct and separate places. At times this dissuaded us from using the kitchen and dining table when we were upstairs.

The kitchen is a neat little place. It almost felt like opening up a shop in the morning when we went down for breakfast, as we unlocked the door then unlatched and opened the shutters and windows. Having a kitchen exposed to the elements like this meant that we kept all of our food in the fridge to keep the bugs away. Having said that, we had no issue with bugs in the kitchen. The dining table, however, was at times swarmed with ants. We mentioned this to the property managers, and they were quickly taken care of.

The running water is not potable, but there was ample drinking water supplied during our stay. Speaking of water, it was nice to have a warm shower occasionally

It was wonderful hearing the breaking waves on the beach at night, and having just a short walk to get there during the day. Punta Uva is a beautiful spot. We spent hours playing in the waves, and walking the beach in the mornings.

Air conditioning worked like a dream, and the wifi was surprisingly fast and reliable throughout our whole visit. And we loved hanging out in the hammock, listening to the sounds of the forest.

If you're looking for a quiet spot, removed from the activity of Puerto Viejo (but still within a 10 minute drive), steps from the ocean...then this place is for you.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MileandCo
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a great time at " la casa de la Musa"”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Everything was perfect for us. The house is clean, we felt safe and at home.
Plenty of space for us (family of 4 ). It was very special to wake up ( ok, it was very early ) because of the Howler Monkeys and than get up and walk to the beach, sitting there with a cup of coffee, nobody else there....PARADISE! Carlos and Jolanda, who are taking care of the property are doing a very nice job, thank you!
We hope to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
970cyrill
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to come back to”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in this house with our two small kids (3 and 1 1/2 years old) and can absolutely recommend this place. There is a kitchen with everything we needed (except for the toaster which had not been replaced yet) and a comfortable seating area downstairs. The first floor was perfect for us because the two rooms and the hallway (including another seating area) is mosquito-proof and the kids had therefore a quite large covered room to play during the (at our stay rather unusually frequent) downpours. The top of everything of course is the beach which is accessible through a short path through the garden/jungle. We really hope we will make it back there some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ultimate Family Honeymoon!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife & I, both single parents of 4 & 6 year old girls, married on August 3rd, 2014. We chose Casa de la Musa because of the 2 bedrooms but at the end it was a perfect accommodation for a myriad of reasons!!
Part of my job is inspecting hotels and vacation properties so any negative comment hereafter reflects only my thoroughness!! Needless to say the question is not IF our family will return but when!!
I had two reservations after inspecting the property. First they advertise and present a photo of a bathtub. When I asked where the stopper was, I was told there is none but you cannot use the tub anyway because of the water!? Second, upon inspecting the kitchen the oven didn`t work and I was asked, well you weren`t planning to use the oven on vacation were you? Well, actually I was! We have two small children and cannot afford restaurants every night.
However, those are the absolute only drawbacks at all!! Everything else exceeded our expectations! Our host Evi even gave us some local travel tips and not just the usual go here or there but opinion that greatly enhanced our vacation!!
My wife and I cannot wait to go again and I would highly recommend it but I don`t want you to book out the space so we can`t get it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, layout, beach accessability, security
Liked least: Bathtub & oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing