We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Urbana Champaign
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We reserved 3 rooms for my husband, myself, and family. The setup of the hotel was nice, but that was about it. The reason we picked this hotel was for the family to be together and swim in the pool and use the hot tub, which my husband told them when he called to make reservations. The pool was freezing cold and the pumps were not working. The pump on the hot tub was broken and the water wasn't filled to the proper depth. The telephone did not work in my room and the thermostat was stuck on 80 degrees. We were able to get put in a different room, but it was away from our family members. During our stay I went to the desk to ask a question and no one was there, but looking through the open door there was a woman sitting at a desk in front of a computer. I had to call her to get her attention. Terrible service. The next morning when we needed to check out, there was no one at the front desk. There was a basket with a note on the counter stating to put our "keys" in the basket. Of all times, why you would not have someone at the front desk at checkout time is beyond me. Two days later when I got on my bank's website to check our charges for the rooms, we were overcharged for the original 3 rooms AND charged for the 4th room we were moved to, at a higher rate, even though the woman at the desk told me it was the same type of room as our original room we were moved from. When my husband called to asked about the overcharges, the woman who answered the phone said it was for "incidentals" and the charges would "fall off" in a couple of days. (Right!) She did not see the 4th room charge with the 3 original room charges, but she did see the 4th charge on another part of her computer. My husband said he wanted a call back from the manager. We'll see if they follow through. I don't think there is anything positive to say about our stay. I am not one to write bad reviews, but this stay was ridiculous. I think we should get half of our money back.

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless it is the last available hotel and you are stranded during a snow storm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONNA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 157 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2016

Friendly staff and very attractive hotel! It was an easy stay with no complaints at all. Very reasonably priced

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank BethSChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

This could be a nice hotel if the staff would clean the building such as the elevators and floors where people can see the neglect.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank R3499QHsandrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Architegod
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2016

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Z1765UEdonnal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
2.4 km away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
2.4 km away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
577 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Econo Lodge Champaign Urbana – University Area
0.2 km away
Ramada Urbana/Champaign
2.1 km away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center of Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Urbana Champaign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Urbana Champaign

Address: 1001 W Killarney St, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-1036 (Formerly Urbana Plaza Hotel & Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range: $77 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Urbana Champaign 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I74 at Lincoln Ave, you are a short two mile drive from the heart of the University of Illinois, including Memorial Stadium (home to the Fighting Illini Football) and the University of Illinois State Farm Center. Also near the Wyndham Garden are the quaint downtowns of Urbana and Champaign. We do not currently provide microwaves or refrigerators in the rooms. They are available upon request from the Front Desk, free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Urbana Champaign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Champaign Urbana Hotel Urbana
Holiday Inn Urbana
Urbana Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Urbana Champaign IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing