We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,789)
Filter reviews
1,789 results
Traveller rating
647
675
290
101
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
675
290
101
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool shopping centre nelson bay amazing pool huge pool steam room direct access to the pool studio room tennis courts wraps spa bath short drive school holidays across the road buffet breakfast relaxing stay long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,604 - 1,609 of 1,789 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for just one night on our way to the Hunter Valley. It was a last minute booking via telephone having checked out the hotel online at TA. The member of staff I spoke to was most helpful and matched the online price without question. We arrived at 10.00am expecting to wait for a room to become available, however a few minutes after we had checked in a room was ready for us ( usual check in time 2.00pm). The groundfloor room was large, bright and clean with a patio area next to one of the 'beaches' or sunbathing areas. The aircon was good and most welcome, TV reception also good (if that's what you want), the bed was large and comfortable with crisp white sheets. The self contained kitchenette with microwave, fridge, kettle etc was perfectly adequete for a short stay and easily stocked from the shopping centre 500m away.
The restaurant was available but as we decided to eat out, reception booked a taxi to take us into Nelson Bay for our evening meal. Returning at about 10.00pm we were surprised to find both the restuarant and bar closed. Was this because February is out of season?
Having arrived early the previous day, we wanted to depart later after check out at 10.00am. No problem! Reception looked after our cases whilst we made use of the 'beach' area and pool.
The staff we met were both helpful and friendly, our demands, such as they were, were met without question.
Overall, we would not have used the word 'resort' to describe Oaks Pacific Blue, but it is well maintained, clean and peaceful in a quiet location ideal if you want to chill out for a day or two.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room near a 'beach'.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B52s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review of our Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy what the area has to offer. Is great to hear that our staff were able to accommodate your early arrival and to have the room available for you.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at the Oaks Pacific whilst travelling between Sydney and Brisbane. This was our first stopover (2 nights) before moving onto Port Macquarie. First impressions were how clean and well presented the hotel was. The reception is well staffed and all who worked there came across as very helpful and friendly. As we were in Oz for 3 weeks and trying to keep the costs down, we had booked the cheapest room rate which meant our room had no real outside sitting area. Admittedly, it had patio doors leading onto a small paved area with chairs but this was next too the reception entrance and overlooked the carpark. Had we paid a little extra we would have had a sitting area facing the pool, so well worth paying a bit more. Our room was extremely well kept, and the bed amazingly comfortable, but for us the hotel seemed to lack any real charm. We were there in early November so perhaps the summer season hadn't really started but from 7pm onwards the hotel bar and restaurant became desolate. Having said that we were to discover during our journey, just how early Ozzie's seem to go bed, compared to Brits.!!( maybe that's why we have a drink problem). The same applies too Port Stephens very quite and sophisticated but also very attractive. If you stay at the hotel you'd definitely need a car as there is very little close by. The hotel pool is different but perhaps a little impractical, as its just very long and thin, and very shallow. The hotel restaurant is a bit pricey so would recommend a short drive to Birubi point beach where there is a small beach side cafe, next to the carpark. There you can sit in the sun watching the surfers, with a wonderful cooked breakfast for a fraction of the price you'd pay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filbert414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you so much for your review of Oaks Pacific Blue Resort. We really appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you and your British friends back to stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I chose to stay with my husband here for 3 nights based on the swimout rooms the access is good, However we did not get pool weather I dont hold that against the resort, I t doesnt say resort its more like short stay accommodation to me, no designated parking so you have to park wherever you can get it around your room, there is no room service the advertisement suggest a full restaurant but it is only seasonal the only dining option we had was a buffet the staff let us walk around a have a look we decided to drive back into nelson bay as we did every day we stayed for meals, I saw a cockroach in the bathroom it didnt make me want to stay there, The rooms are serviced very late in the day up to 5 oclock its not convenient if your showering to go out again, If you dont mind driving everywhere while on a break the location doesnt matter, there is no service here to comment on this is essentially a self cater without self cater facilities you have a toaster, kettle, microwave, the walls looked like they had been plastered up to cover up some damage but not finished like sanded and painted. A lot of old people here like over 65. Once again this is not a resort as suggested in tis name.

Room Tip: make sure you get good pool weather as this is the only reason you would go here
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on Oaks Pacific Blue, however, are disappointed to hear that the property did not suite your requirements.

We hope that you will choose to stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again in the future to enable us to demonstrate the quality accommodation to which we have become known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I stayed in a swim out 1 bedroom apartment for our wedding anniversary.

It is relatively new resort complex and the layout consists of a large artificial pool that snakes itself around the resort with apartments/rooms on the banks of the pool.

The apartment we stayed in was clean and well furnished, though we found the bed a bit hard. We would've loved to stay in summer as then we could use the swim out feature of our apartment.

In terms of location, it is situated inland and at least a 5-10 min drive to the coast. The advantage is that there is a reasonably sized shopping centre just across the road, which is very useful for staying in a self contained apartment.

We would recommend this as a nice escape from Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

As we were using a voucher, we were severely limited to our choice of room. We ended up with a hotel room which we were told on the phone overlooked the pool but the one we got overlooked the road out the back of the resort. However, it was a beautiful room, cannot fault how clean the room was, it also had very modern furnishings.

Bathroom was huge and had a great size corner spa but the biggest letdown was the shower. The door had no seal so the floor and the bathmat ended up completely soaking. Very dangerous to get out on slippery tiles. Our room never got serviced either so we ended up with soaking towels all weekend.

No in-room guide (which i guess we would expect at a 4 1/2 star resort) to tell us about the property features like the pool, restaurant, day spa. We had to go out in the rain to find out what was on offer at the day spa etc.

If we were with another couple or were a family I think we would have had a ball. The pool looked spectacular and we were gutted that this weekend was cold and wet.

Would definitely recommend for group stays and book an apartment next to the pool - it would be fab!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

We appreciate your review of Oaks Pacific Blue Resort and thank you for your recommendation. We are sure that future guests will find your comments helpful.

Please accept our apologies for the confusion over the view you received. We hope that we may have the chance to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews