We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,795)
Filter reviews
1,795 results
Traveller rating
650
676
291
102
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
676
291
102
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon pool shopping centre nelson bay amazing pool huge pool steam room direct access to the pool studio room tennis courts wraps spa bath short drive school holidays across the road buffet breakfast relaxing stay long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,662 - 1,667 of 1,795 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2011

A great location for families and conveniently located to a shopping centre. Being able to swim right into the interconnected loop pool is really awesome for warm months and is the best feature of the resort. Rooms are tastefully decorated.

However, the resort offers very little extras compared to other places we've stayed. We were only given two towels for the entire weekend. Two lights did not work in our room. The pay per view was fuzzy. Staff were short and not solution orientated. The gym equipment is pretty nice but the steam room stunk like feet. Our room was not serviced and from reading another review this was probably because we had used a voucher. It is ironic that they would offer vouchers then disappoint with service because the point of a voucher is to impress so you have returning guests. I guess they are thinking just short term but long term is more ideal. We won't be returning due to the average service and guest interaction. If this is considered one of the best in the area I would have serious concerns about the future of the hospitality industry in the area especially coming from countries with much higher standards.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutha101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for you honest review of your recent stay at Oaks Pacific Blue. We have passed your comments onto the Hotel Manager to address the customer service and other issues you have experienced. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay however hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you to another of our properties

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The swim-in/swim-out accommodation is great, but the water feels like it's straight out of a fridge. Great for kids who can't feel the cold! :-) The restaurant/cafe staff have no idea how to deal with customers. When asked if there was any snacks available we were told an abrupt NO despite an array of cakes being available directly adjacent to the desk we enquired at. The correct response should have been 'The restaurant is closed, however there are cakes available at the counter behind you' (the counter had no one attending it so we weren't sure if it was open anyway). In the evening we tried to get some dinner but were told there were no tables available at any time during the entire evening (for two people only) - despite there being twenty free tables outside. Again, the correct way to respond should have been 'We have no more room inside tonight, but if you're happy to sit outside I can fit you in'. It seems the staff need to go back to hospitality school- if they ever attended at all!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for posting your review of Oaks Pacific Blue. We are disappointed to read of the customer service you experienced from the restaurant staff. As the restaurant is run by an external company we have ensured to pass your comments onto their management team to address. We apologise that this has impacted negatively on what we had hoped would be an enjoyable stay. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed for a night in one of their studio apartments with kitchnette and small garden in June 2011. The room also had a 2 seater sofa and dining table. The hotel has a circular lagoon (like a small canal) which most the accommodation is centered around so that the guests have direct access from their rooms onto the lagoon. Our room did not offer that as it was in the main hotel close to reception but we had access to all the facilities had we needed them. The hotel is also close opposite a large shopping centre and not far from the main town and facilities of the Nelson Bay area. We would love to spend more time there during the summer as it looks like a great place for a family holiday. I have also suggested to our company that we consider it for our annual conference.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are around the lagoon but the price charged seems to reflect that
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LillyandMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed mid September and overall the experience was quite pleasant. Reception were fine on arrival and room clean. I did have to wash some of the crockery again as it wasn't completely clean but this was a minor detail. We stayed in a 2br apartment opposite the lagoon pool and it was a lovely outlook.

Only concern was that the gardens in common areas and each villa seemed to be overgrown and poorly maintained, with many weeds, which while in itself was not really a problem this does not convey a good message of the outdoor maintenance...sort of made you wonder if their maintenance contractors hadnt attended for some reason in a long time....

Reception on the morning of checkout was a bit curt and seemed too busy and somewhat stressed, other than that, a great place with plenty of positives (awesome pool, clean apartment, very spacious, good value for money)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onbusiness255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and the apartment was suitable for your needs.

We do apologise that there was some minor cleaning of cutlery that you had to attend to; we will speak to our Housekeeping department to ensure this is rectified for all future guests.

Thank you for also making us aware of the garden maintenance as we will speak to the Hotel Manager and ground staff about this.

We do hope to see you again soon at Oaks Pacific Blue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at the Oaks Pacific Blue on the first weekend of September with some friends and it was lovely. It was a self contained apartment and a swim out, which gave us easy access to the amazing pool, which wasn't as cold as I thought it would be considering previous reviews. The apartment was clean and didn't include housekeeping but I had enquired about that on booking so I knew that already.

On checking in reception was very helpful, gave us directions to our room and showed us where we coud park. We had to call for extra crockery and cutlery as we had booked for a rollaway so we had 5 people staying but only had 4 sets of plates etc...housekeeping came straight down with them so that was no problem. I have stayed in a few places where we've needed a rollaway and they often forget the extra crockey and cutlery.

The resort was relatively quiet when we stayed, but knowing that kids like to get out and in the pool early, and due to all the rooms being in close proximity to the pool, I can see how this resort would become quite loud during summer and peak periods, but if that is something that wouldn't bother you it wouldn't matter.

My only complaint would be on their restaurant. We went there for dinner on the Saturday night and it wasn't overly busy but they were VERY slow in service. We were told to purchase cocktails at the bar, then stood there for 10 minutes before being served because the 1 poor person behind was busy trying to fill orders from the tables. No one came straight to our table to take our drink order, we had to signal someone to eventually take our food order, then our plates sat empty in front of us for a long time before we managed to catch someones eye to get our bill. When we asked if they were particularly busy that night, we were told the chef was in the kitchen on his own. Having said that, the food was fabulous and came out rather quickly, the issue I found was with service. Because of this I probably wouldn't go back, even though the food was good.

All in all a great resort to stay, good for families, probably not for couples wanting a week/weekend away.

Room Tip: Swimout/Pool access room can be loud, but are the drawing card of the resort.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel_b_0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Pacific Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor.

It is lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday and that the accommodation and facilities were perfect for your stay.

We will ensure to pass on your positive feedback to our Hotel Manager and Housekeeping department regarding the helpful and friendly service you received.

It is however, disappointing to note that the restaurant service was slow but so glad to hear that your meal was great!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Pacific Blue in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews