We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of TARA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TARA Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2017

It was such a delight to stay at TARA for my birthday weekend. It was our second visit and the hospitality we received as wonderful as the first. Tara is the perfect base for catching up with family and friends and for experiencing all that the Inner West of Sydney has to offer. Great restaurants, nearby recreational facilities and parks and easy access to public transport are a big plus for this guesthouse. Thanks again Brom and Julian!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stefaniepillora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Prepare yourself for great hosts who make the best and heartiest breakfast in the world. Julian picked us up from the airport. The room is excellent if travelling with a kid. Brom gives tips adapted to your needs. And the breakfast keeps you full until the evening. Do not hesitate to book this place.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank DadaZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Room very spacious bed with accompanying sitting room / lounge TV DVD wifi
Art is plentiful and pleasing
Conversation with hosts helpful and entertaining
Pickup from Airport eliminates stress after a flight
Julian also dropped us off for an early morning appointment (bonus)
Bron dropped us into the city before our departure
one of the special highlights a long table breakfast
culinary delights and diversity lots of fresh fruits
personal service and a real connection thanks

Room Tip: downstairs is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank spiceyfarming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

The title says it all.
Brom and Julian are the most engaging and considerate hosts you would wish to meet.
From the airport pick up to the wave goodbye, they give your stay that friendly touch lacking elsewhere.
Nothing was too much trouble.
The house, the breakfasts, the orientation session. The general kindness.
No hesitation in giving this wonderful couple and their home the highest rating.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Julian and Brom were wonderful hosts and their Edwardian house was to die for!
The house comprised of really beautifully appointed rooms- we loved ours - and our marble bathroom.
Breakfast was an epic delight - both are wonderful cooks and the food just kept coming - accompanied by great conversation! Our hosts were so helpful in giving us maps and helping us find where it was we wanted to go in the rest of Sydney.

Situated in Newtown - an "up and coming " area - only ten minutes walk to station or five minutes to bus - both taking us straight to the centre of Sydney.

So so much better than an anonymous hotel somewhere in downtown Sydney. Thank you for a great experience

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britinsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enmore
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 180 in Sydney
1,413 reviews
Bet's B&B Studio
#1 of 2 in Annandale
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Address: 13 Edgeware Rd, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price Range: $185 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing