We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”
Review of TARA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TARA Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Amazing”
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Amazing people. Amazing service. Amazing house. Amazing location. Amazing breakfast. What more can I say? I would recommend to anyone to stay at this fantastic place. We stayed here for 3 nights in February 2017 and didn't want to leave! And Oscar the dog is so cute. Peter. Lorraine & Barney

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iggymays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    25
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
80
196
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I staid at Tara Guest House in Enmore, Sydney for 3 days in the beginning of February 2017. And I must say that I couldn´t have picked a better place in Sydney. The neighborhood was interesting and vibrant, and close to the more busy and turisty city center. It had a genuine feel to it, with lots of interesting shops and places to eat. But the real gem is Tara Guest House - owned and run by Julien and Broome. They were such nice people and made me feel instantly at home in the beautiful house - and room! The homemade breakfast is a feast and you enjoy it with the rest of the guets and Julien and Broome join you for a coffee after serving you all that you can wish for to start your day with energy. I really enjoyed those conversations by the table. Their dog Oscar is the cutest and the atmostphere in the house is just lovely. I just cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccdchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Everything about my stay was absolutely divine. Julian and Brom were such welcoming hosts the moment I walked in and the breakfast was 5 star. Enmore is a very vibrant area with a huge selection of fantastic restaurants and a great community feeling to it. The terrace itself has exquisite artwork and the garden was beautiful. I could hardly get out of my bed it was so comfortable and the place felt more like a second home than a B&B. Oscar the border collie was hard to say goodbye too as such a sweet dog. I cannot rate this place highly enough, it was great value for money and will certainly be back another time.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Beautiful old house right in Newtown / Enmore. 10min walk to Newtown station, walk to all shops, main street. Lovely spacious old terrace house, beautiful interior, garden and artwork. Nice and quiet, leafy street. The breakfast is absolutely delicious, multiple courses, Brom and Julian really put it on, easily worth $40+ in cafe prices, but better than any breakfast I've had in a cafe. Best weekend stay in Sydney ever, and free airport shuttle as well. Oh and can't forget Oscar the awesome border collie who is adorable.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinnisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2017

What can I say about Tara Guest House, amazing hosts with such great stories to tell over a simply awesome breakfast, that kept you going until dinner. Loved the communal breakfast with other guests. Brom and Julian were great hosts and it was never too much trouble helping us plan our days in Sydney and with restaurant and bar choices for the evenings. Julian collected us and dropped us back to the airport which was a real personal touch. Loved the area of Enmore and Newtown and only a bus journey away from the main areas of Sydney. We simply cannot recommend this guesthouse highly enough and it certainly has been our best stay anywhere. Thank you both.

Room Tip: The large top floor where we stayed was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandar350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enmore
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
467 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Property: TARA Guest House
Address: 13 Edgeware Rd, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price range (per night): $185 - $245
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing