We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TARA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TARA Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can I say about Tara Guest House, amazing hosts with such great stories to tell over a simply awesome breakfast, that kept you going until dinner. Loved the communal breakfast with other guests. Brom and Julian were great hosts and it was never too much trouble helping us plan our days in Sydney and with restaurant and bar choices for the evenings. Julian collected us and dropped us back to the airport which was a real personal touch. Loved the area of Enmore and Newtown and only a bus journey away from the main areas of Sydney. We simply cannot recommend this guesthouse highly enough and it certainly has been our best stay anywhere. Thank you both.

Room Tip: The large top floor where we stayed was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandar350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    25
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
192
57
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Tara guesthouse and enjoyed our stay in Sydney. The hosts Julian and Brom are very friendly and welcoming and help with a lot of good suggestions on sightseeing. Julian picked us up from the airport, which was very pleasant after a long flight. Breakfast offered many variations and was absolutely delicious every day. The rooms are spacious, absolutely clean and nicely decorated. There is a lot to explore in the neighbourhood and different buses around the corner take you to the city center in 15 to 20 minutes. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

My fiancé and I landed in Sydney with no place to stay- bought Lonely Planet at the airport and discovered Tara - we called and they had availability! LUCKY! They offered to pick us up at the airport but we ordered an Uber. Who offers to pick people up at the airport?? We knew we already loved this place!

Upon arriving we loved the charm, unique art and chic-ness. Owners Brom and Julian MAKE THE BEST BREAKFAST WE HAVE EVER HAD. WE STILL TALK ABOUT IT/DREAM ABOUT IT. We are lucky we only stayed for 4 nights order else we would have gained 100 lbs.

Although Brom and Julian are probably our seniors by 30+ years they are infinitely cooler than we will ever be.

Not only was the breakfast amazing Brom and Julian gave us the insiders recommendations of local places to explore and eat with no tourists. We owe our amazing time in Sydney to them.

Oh and Oscar the dog is such a cutie.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed in Tara Guesthouse from December 12. to 21. 2016. We choseTG, only a short bus- train ride from Circular Quai, as home base to explore Sydney. Brom & Julian are wonderful and charming hosts. Their effort to help us with informations to make our visit unforgetable was just great.
The breakfasts in Tara Guesthouse are delicious but after...you better go out for a long walk to burn off some calories.
So glad we stayed there!

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully furnished and have comfy beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UHUstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Tara guesthouse is a truly unique boutique accommodation experience in Australia. This grand house with a gritty history is located in cosmopolitan, inner city Enmore and its owners Susan and Julian have restored it lovingly, filled it with fantastic art, and made every room comfortable and stylish. You get so much more than a hotel here: fancy sheets and bedding, sure, but also full bookshelves, beautiful antique and vintage furniture, and a lovely garden setting. There is plenty of privacy but the interiors are also open in a way you never find in hotels. At Tara, you wake every morning to a gourmet four-course breakfast and as you nosh, you can get tips for day trips and activities from Susan and Julian, who grew up in Sydney and are a font of knowledge on the history and geography of the city, as well as events that are going on right now. Their hospitality and advice opens Sydney beyond the familiar tourist trail and with that breakfast under your belt you will have the energy to explore until the cocktail hour. Brekkie, wifi, airport transfers and a fully topped up Opal card are included in the room tariff making Tara the most affordable accommodation going, incredible given how luxurious it is. I cannot recommend this guesthouse highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briohny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enmore
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Property: TARA Guest House
Address: 13 Edgeware Rd, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price range (per night): $185 - $245
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing