We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place BEST breakfast”
Review of TARA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TARA Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2017

My fiancé and I landed in Sydney with no place to stay- bought Lonely Planet at the airport and discovered Tara - we called and they had availability! LUCKY! They offered to pick us up at the airport but we ordered an Uber. Who offers to pick people up at the airport?? We knew we already loved this place!

Upon arriving we loved the charm, unique art and chic-ness. Owners Brom and Julian MAKE THE BEST BREAKFAST WE HAVE EVER HAD. WE STILL TALK ABOUT IT/DREAM ABOUT IT. We are lucky we only stayed for 4 nights order else we would have gained 100 lbs.

Although Brom and Julian are probably our seniors by 30+ years they are infinitely cooler than we will ever be.

Not only was the breakfast amazing Brom and Julian gave us the insiders recommendations of local places to explore and eat with no tourists. We owe our amazing time in Sydney to them.

Oh and Oscar the dog is such a cutie.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gillian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017

We stayed in Tara Guesthouse from December 12. to 21. 2016. We choseTG, only a short bus- train ride from Circular Quai, as home base to explore Sydney. Brom & Julian are wonderful and charming hosts. Their effort to help us with informations to make our visit unforgetable was just great.
The breakfasts in Tara Guesthouse are delicious but after...you better go out for a long walk to burn off some calories.
So glad we stayed there!

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully furnished and have comfy beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UHUstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Tara guesthouse is a truly unique boutique accommodation experience in Australia. This grand house with a gritty history is located in cosmopolitan, inner city Enmore and its owners Susan and Julian have restored it lovingly, filled it with fantastic art, and made every room comfortable and stylish. You get so much more than a hotel here: fancy sheets and bedding, sure, but also full bookshelves, beautiful antique and vintage furniture, and a lovely garden setting. There is plenty of privacy but the interiors are also open in a way you never find in hotels. At Tara, you wake every morning to a gourmet four-course breakfast and as you nosh, you can get tips for day trips and activities from Susan and Julian, who grew up in Sydney and are a font of knowledge on the history and geography of the city, as well as events that are going on right now. Their hospitality and advice opens Sydney beyond the familiar tourist trail and with that breakfast under your belt you will have the energy to explore until the cocktail hour. Brekkie, wifi, airport transfers and a fully topped up Opal card are included in the room tariff making Tara the most affordable accommodation going, incredible given how luxurious it is. I cannot recommend this guesthouse highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briohny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

In Hawaii we have a common saying called the "Aloha Spirit". It is the joyful sharing of life energy in the present. Well, we found the aloha spirit in Sydney, Australia. What a treasure of a find! This charming 1880 home with interesting architecture is a welcome respite for the traveler and a great home base for exploring Sydney. The proprietors, Julian and Brom are gracious hosts who make you feel quite welcome in their enchanting place. Eclectic artwork graces the walls and the tasteful decor reveal their own love of travel. To say the breakfasts are gourmet is an understatement! A culinary experience extraordinaire might better describe the amazing variety of fresh fruits and crepes, Eggs Benedict and wonderful combinations of food prepared with care, thought and elegance in mind. The stimulating conversation is just as enjoyable as the peaceful pace of breakfast and coffee lovers will indulge in a second and maybe a third cup. It is guaranteed that you will not be ready for another meal till the evening.How fortunate we are to have met this unique couple and we feel blessed to have shared this magical place they call their home.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Volcanoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Tara Guest House is in a trendy suburb of Sydney, which is a short bus ride from the heart of the City and harbour. Julian and Brom welcomed us into their beautiful home which we would describe as a traditional style, large colonial house with a beautiful garden. The large, airy rooms were tastefully furnished and exceptionally comfy beds. The 'piece de resistance' was Julian and Brom's warm welcome and the tasty, homemade feasts they served us for breakfast. All guests sat around the tabĺe to enjoy with great conversations! Fabulous stay and thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bhavna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enmore
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
506 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bet's B&B Studio
#1 of 2 in Annandale
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Address: 13 Edgeware Rd, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price Range: $185 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing