We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Hosts And Best Breakfast Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TARA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TARA Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Enmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Hosts And Best Breakfast Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016

I stayed in Tara Guest House for the last 3 days of a 4 month trip around New Zealand and Australia. The Guest House is very stylish and filled with a wonderfully eclectic art collection. Bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable. The breakfasts were simply awesome - generous in both size and the variety of breakfast foods on offer and very delicious (fortunately the hosts, Brom and Julian, let me take Oscar the Collie Dog out for long walks around Enmore to burn off some breakfast calories). Enmore is an interesting, fun and vibrant district of Sydney with plenty to see and do plus the Harbour area and Circular Quay are easily accessible via bus and train. Finally - Brom and Julian were the best hosts ever. Fun to talk to, full of suggestions re what to see/do and genuinely committed to making sure I had a great time whilst staying with them. Definitely the best hosts ever.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and very individual. Room 4 is at back of house and hence slightly more shelte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdLover1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    25
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
192
57
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

I stayed multiple times in recent months while undertaking study at Sydney University staying in two different rooms across the trips. The beds and linen are excellent; well superior to a hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious, clean and airy. High ceilings and walls tastefully decorated with interesting art. These features alone are enough to make this place. However, what takes it beyond are the hosts. Brom and Julian are friendly and generous hosts. They genuinely like running their business and they genuinely like their guests. The breakfasts are delicious - but bring your elasticised pants.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danoir2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016

I am very late writing this review due to me thinking I had already done it a long time ago. Better late than never! I actually stayed here with a couple of friends during August 2015 while in Sydney for the Netball World Cup. Amazing hospitality and out of this world breakfasts. Julian and Brom are the best hosts and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. I can't speak highly enough of their effort to produce those amazing breakfasts. Would stay here again if I was in the area, especially if you want to be near Enmore with all those wonderful restaurants and atmosphere.

Room Tip: If I stayed again I would choose a room with a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

I came down to Sydney with teammates for a competition and we decided to stay here after reading all the reviews - best decision we have ever made. Julian and Brom truly made us feel at home from pickup to the end of our stay. The breakfasts were the best I've ever had - locally sourced, hot off the pan, great variety and served with freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. Talking with the other guests and Julian and Brom was also a lovely way to start the day. The rooms were spacious and well-kept (they were always magically made up whenever we got back from a day out). If you're still on the fence, I might add that they also have the most beautiful border collie named Oscar who loves pats and cuddles.

In terms of value, it's really an incredible value for money and I'll be staying here again the next time i'm down in Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016

Julian and Brom were our introduction to Australia -- and a lovely introduction it was. We really felt taken care of, from the moment Julian picked us up at the airport. Getting to talk with them and with their other guests over breakfast was an important part of the experience, one to be savored (with the wonderful food and coffee!). We are very fortunate to have stayed with them.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jk039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enmore
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,059 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 179 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TARA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TARA Guest House

Property: TARA Guest House
Address: 13 Edgeware Rd, Enmore, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Enmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Enmore
Price range (per night): $185 - $245
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tara Guest House is located in Sydney’s cosmopolitan Newtown/Enmore area with a reputation for being the chicest bohemian outpost in the city's inner suburbs, while maintaining a great sense of friendly local community and only 15 minutes from the CBD. Built around 1880 on large grounds, this recently renovated Victorian house has a mix of classic mid 20th century and antique furniture and improvements are ongoing. We are close to UTS and Sydney University, more than 400 restaurants, cafes, bars and theatres. Interiors have been thoughtfully styled to take advantage of the seriously spacious rooms and to ensure indulgent comfort for our guests. Good tucker always guaranteed! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tara Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing