We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Deep Dish Ever - and they even have lower-fat cheese!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou Malnati's Pizzeria

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria
Ranked #1 of 318 Restaurants in Schaumburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best Deep Dish Ever - and they even have lower-fat cheese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Yes, that's right. I ate Chicago Style Deep Dish Pizza and opted for the "lower-fat cheese." Sure, one might argue that I'm already eating 1,000,000 calories of bread and toppings, but I try to make it healthier where I can, and Lou's does do a great job of utilizing the lower-fat cheese. It's still gooey and melty and delicious. We ordered a Lou's Pie and a Cheese Pie - both amazing. I thought that Giordano's and Gino's East were goos (which they are), but Lou's blows them out of the water in both taste as well as texture, not to mention much friendlier and more knowledgeable service. I love that this location of Lou's is in an old house in Schaumburg. The noise level is not unlike what you'd encounter at a big old family Christmas party in a Victorian-style home. I also recommend the big, family-style salads, as well as the stuffed Spinach Bread as an appetizer.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank volksaudinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    128
    20
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“So much better then Italia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This place is in our backyard and we go there twice a month and it's good 'ole comfort food for the soul. We love Lou's and it's always a great staycation date night joint! You can also dry ice ship the pizza anywhere in the US as a great gift. We also go to the one in downtown Naper which is also very busy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YourWorldTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“My favorite deep dish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This location is always busy and parking is somewhat better since they expanded the lot, but you have to walk a bit. Can get it to go!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank ms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Butter crust-delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I hated deep dish pizza because I had only ever had it at Uno's. Well I still love a think crust NY style pizza but Lou Malnati's has def won me over on the Chicago deep dish variety. Uno's is utter garbage compared to this pizza. The best part--the butter crust. So good. Even better, it comes in a personal size pizza that is truely a personal size meaning everyone can pick the toppings that they love with no compromise. This place is a stop everytime I'm in the area.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank fink369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicioso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We had just arrived in the Chicago area and were looking for some good deep dish pizza. This restaurant had been recommended and we were very glad we stopped in. The restaurant is large with very homey, comfy dining rooms. We sat on the enclosed porch and enjoyed outstanding deep dish pizza and calamari as an appetizer. Both were great. The calamari was lightly breaded and very tender. The pizza was authentic deep dish Chicago-style pizza with toppings that tasted fresh and home made. Service was excellent. We would go again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marikesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing