We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Schaumburg
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Always the first place I book for my stay in the Schaumburg area. Friendly accommodating staff. I've lost count home many times I've stayed coming and going from FL to CO and Co to FL. Already have my spring stay booked.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisca H, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Linda,

Thank you for being a Loyal Wyndham Rewards member. We really appreciate your positive, 5 Star review. I'm so glad that our friendly and accommodating staff has earned your repeat business. We value you so much, for thinking of us as your little "home away from home."

We're looking forward to seeing you again in the spring. We hope you have a wonderful winter in the warmer weather of Florida. Thank you again!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

Stayed here for a week and would NEVER return. Hotel is clean enough (except for filthy hallway carpet), but just awful. Bed was lumpy and very creaky every time you moved. A/C was old, could not regulate the temperature in the room, and was so loud it drowned out the TV to the point I would have had to turn the volume up to a level that would have annoyed neighbors. I didn't have a decent night sleep the whole time I was there as a result. Bath amenities were NEVER replenished during my entire one week stay; I was expected to last 7 days on one small bar of soap, one small bottle of shampoo and one small bottle of conditioner. Some days they failed to empty the trash; one day they left it on the desk for me! The regular coffee was NEVER replenished; every day I had to go the front desk to request more and the housekeeper STILL wasn't reminded to keep it replenished. When there were issues, rather than someone coming to my room to assist, I was RUDELY told I would have to go the front desk (to get more coffee, towels, supplies, etc.). ZERO customer service. I specifically called to ask if they had a hot breakfast to assure I could have protein in the morning (not just a continental breakfast) and they said yes, but what was presented was barely edible; the sausage on the days they had it was hard to the touch. The bacon must have been sliced with a razor blade, as I've never seen bacon so thin; felt/tasted like plastic. It seemed there was never anyone at the front desk; I had to stand there and wait for 10 minutes just to check out! And to top it all off, when I returned to my room from my business Friday, the room hadn't been made. When I called front desk to report it, I was told there is no house cleaning on the weekends. WHAT? There is NO mention of that on their website! False advertising! There is a card in the room I hadn't noticed that says they will do a "light touch" cleaning and a "full cleaning" on your 5th day (which I NEVER received), but there are no services on the weekend. I strongly feel that should have been disclosed on the website. When traveling for business or pleasure, who wants to come back to their room after a long day and have to do their own housecleaning? You can imagine by the time I left on Monday, the trash can was overflowing, and the room was starting to smell like the deep dish pizza remnants I had thrown away, due to the lack of service for 3 days.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank girlygirl632017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisca H, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much for your feed back. We appreciate your concerns and hope you will review the website again to see all of our great amenities and policies in regards to housekeeping schedules. I have shared this review with our team and we are investigating each of your bullet points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Francisca H, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 October 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank adriennem658
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Francisca H, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2017

The hotel is just ok. It is in need of a remodel. Location is great and the staff is even better. Just a tired building with not very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisca H, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hello Jeremy,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us -- we appreciate your loyalty in our Wyndham Rewards Program.

I'm delighted to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly -
it truly brightens our day. We're sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay with regards to your bed comfort. My apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced due to this.

If there is anything we can do, to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please get in touch at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schaumburg hotels
0.6 km away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
3.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
Radisson Hotel Schaumburg
#4 of 29 in Schaumburg
320 reviews
2.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Schaumburg Chicago Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Schaumburg
Comfort Suites Schaumburg
#19 of 29 in Schaumburg
236 reviews
1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Schaumburg
Days Inn & Suites Schaumburg
#18 of 29 in Schaumburg
515 reviews
0.7 km away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Woodfield Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg

Address: 1200 Bank Dr, Schaumburg, IL 60173-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Schaumburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Schaumburg
Price Range: $97 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg is located in the heart of the Schaumburg Business District. The property features a 500 sq. ft. breakfast area and lounge where our enthusiastic staff serves full hot breakfast buffets and evening manager's receptions. Next to the our free guest laundry area is our completely renovated exercise room that features new flooring, lighting, mirrors, equipment and a motivating mural. But before you even check in at the contemporary front desk in our new lobby or visit our fully-equipped business center, you will be welcomed by the upgraded landscaping, resurfaced parking lot, and freshly painted building exterior. Our location is a perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers. We are located near major highways, minutes from O'Hare Airport, Chicago, Woodfield Mall, Ikea, Medieval Times, Schaumburg Flyers and the Willow Creek Church. The area is also home to such businesses as Motorola, Zurich, Texas Instruments, Verizon, IBM and ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Chicago Schaumburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago Schaumburg Hotel Schaumburg
Candlewood Suites Schaumburg
Candlewood Schaumburg
Schaumburg Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing