We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and friendly and helpful hosts.”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the canal towpath towards Canal View in the picturesque village of Bathampton.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the canal towpath towards Canal View in the picturesque village of Bathampton.
Canal View is an upper-floor apartment in a terrace of 19th century bath stone cottages. Ducks in the canal in front of Canal View.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
View from the canal towpath towards Canal View in the picturesque village of Bathampton.
Canal View is an upper-floor apartment in a terrace of 19th century bath stone cottages.
Ducks in the canal in front of Canal View.
View from the lounge across the canal to the towpath and The George pub (also showing the car park).
View of canal from main bedroom with king size bed (can also be arranged as two singles).
Studio bedroom with king size bed (can also be arranged as two singles).
Back bedroom with a standard size double bed (against the wall).
Versatile and well equipped kitchen-diner with views of the canal.
The kitchen-diner catches the morning sun at breakfast and has a log-burning stove for cosy dinners.
Modern bathroom with toilet, washbasin, bath and shower.
The lounge has a large corner sofa, Internet-connected 'Smart' TV and another log-burning
Children love feeding the ducks from the communal canal-side garden.
The George pub is just across the canal bridge from Canal View.
Sit and watch the world go by on benches in the public green next to The George pub.
The Bathampton Mill on the River Avon has a large riverside garden and is just a short walk away.
A delightful walk or cycle ride along the canal towpath takes you into the City of Bath.
From the canal towpath you can enter the City of Bath via Sydney Gardens.
Cross the historic Pulteney Bridge over the River Avon in Bath.
Visit the historic Roman Baths.
Enjoy the splendour of Bath's Georgian architecture.
After a day of sight-seeing in the City, return along the canal towpath to tranquil Bathampton.
For a change of pace, head out along the towpath into the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bathampton, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
0canberra...
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Great location and friendly and helpful hosts.”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great location and well set up apartment. Renovations were being done on the roof while we were there but Paul and Christina kept us informed of developments and also reduced the rent in case we were inconvenienced in any way. They were very welcoming, providing us with wine and freshly picked raspberries, and also provided very comprehensive information about services etc round the area. Only suggestion we would make is that the bathroom needs better ventilation, especially as there were five people showering. We wished we could have stayed longer and hope to return someday. Thank you Paul and Christina for a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom needed better ventilation.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JORDI R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb flat in a privileged area”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We enjoyed a lot during our holidays in Bathampton.

The flat was very nice, lovely and comfortable.
Instructions were very accurate and It was very easy to access.
Flat has all the amenities a family needs: spacious and clean rooms, extremely well equiped kitchen: dishwasher, oven, microwave, refrigerator, freezer, washing-machine, ... A spacious dining-room and even table games for children.

Bathampton, Bath and sorroundings are plenty of interesting places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMRMT2014
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Canal View is a beautifully appointed and extremely well equipped apartment with considerable flexibility in the arrangement of the sleeping accommodation. The interior is bright and airy and presentation is immaculate. Views from some of the windows are beautiful. Car parking is easy.The owners are very approachable, quick to respond to any questions and genuinely anxious to do their utmost to make guests comfortable. The information provided by them both on the apartment and on the surroundings is very detailed, covering everything one could need to know. On our arrival we found beautiful flowers, a lovely bottle of wine and some delicious biscuits awaiting us. All through the stay the owners could be contacted if any need arose. Clearly they also have a very good relationship with neighbours who spoke very highly of them and who are very friendly towards their guests. This place is an absolute gem, not to be missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was just perfect
Liked least: I cannot find anything to criticise. Just that the stairs to the property might be a little steep for an elderly or very infirm person, although there is a good handrail.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane D
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a visit to Bath”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Canal View is in a perfect location for a relaxing visit to the Bath area. It's a lovely walk into Bath then you can return to the tranquility of Bathampton. The flat is in easy walking distance of 2 very nice pubs with large outside areas and good food. Canal View is extremely comfortable and great for spending a weekend with family. We are 3 brothers and wives and great that we could all have double bedrooms. The living room is very sociable. There are games available We played Trivial Pursuit, which became quite competitive and good fun. The kitchen is a great space for socialising. The only slight negative is there is only 1 bathroom and there is a lack of ventilation, became a bit steamy when 6 adults are getting ready, which is not good for the bathroom. Don't know how it could be remedied. Overall we had a great time and would recommend you book this property now :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable & welcoming
Liked least: Lack of ventilation in the bathroom Especially when 6 adults are getting ready
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janamann
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, bright & spacious apartment”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I recently visited Bath with my mother and niece and we were delighted to spend a few days in this beautiful apartment.

Very detailed instructions were provided before our departure and we had no trouble locating the apartment. There was always space in the private car park. The apartment, which is up one flight of stairs, is bright, spacious and clean and the beds were very comfortable. There were fresh flowers, wine and biscuits, milk in the fridge and a supply of tea and condiments, tin foil, kitchen towel, etc as well as detergent for the washing machine and dishwasher. All towels and linens were also provided. In the rear bedroom there is a selection of books and board games. We all found the wifi access easy and fast - much better than many top class hotels.

The weather was very hot and, being on the first floor, we were high enough to enjoy a nice breeze flowing through the open the windows. We also found three fans in one of the wardrobes. The views towards the canal were also very pleasant.

We walked into Bath along the canal path and enjoyed a cruise along the river on our return, docking about 8 mins walk from the apartment. Every evening we wandered along the canal path in the opposite direction to Bath. The canal path is very popular with walkers, joggers and cyclists.

The location was very convenient for avoiding the traffic around Bath and less than 30 mins drive from Bristol.

My niece will be attending Bath Spa University shortly and my mother and I would have no hesitation in returning to this apartment when visiting her. We will definitely bring our bikes next time to enable us to explore the canal path further - it was lovely to be away from the traffic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing