We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent venue”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the canal towpath towards Canal View in the picturesque village of Bathampton.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the canal towpath towards Canal View in the picturesque village of Bathampton.
Canal View is an upper-floor apartment in a terrace of 19th century bath stone cottages. Ducks in the canal in front of Canal View.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
View from the canal towpath towards Canal View in the picturesque village of Bathampton.
Canal View is an upper-floor apartment in a terrace of 19th century bath stone cottages.
Ducks in the canal in front of Canal View.
View from the lounge across the canal to the towpath and The George pub.
View of canal from main bedroom with king size bed (can also be arranged as two singles).
Studio bedroom with king size bed (can also be arranged as two singles).
Back bedroom with a standard size double bed (against the wall).
Versatile and well equipped kitchen-diner with views of the canal.
The kitchen-diner catches the morning sun at breakfast and has a log-burning stove for cosy dinners.
Modern bathroom with toilet, washbasin, bath and shower.
The lounge has a large corner sofa, Internet-connected Smart TV and another log-burning stove.
Children love feeding the ducks from the communal canal-side garden.
The George pub is just across the canal bridge from Canal View.
Sit and watch the world go by on benches in the public green next to The George pub.
The Bathampton Mill on the River Avon has a large riverside garden and is just a short walk away.
A delightful walk or cycle ride along the canal towpath takes you into the City of Bath.
From the canal towpath you can enter the City of Bath via Sydney Gardens.
Cross the historic Pulteney Bridge over the River Avon in Bath.
Visit the historic Roman Baths.
Enjoy the splendour of Bath's Georgian architecture.
After a day of sight-seeing in the City, return along the canal towpath to tranquil Bathampton.
For a change of pace, head out along the towpath into the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bathampton, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cfcolette
Bowdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent venue”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this particular venue because of previous comments on how lovely the place was and how the owners left flowers and goodies for their guests.My friends and I had a great stay-good facilities and a very good area for touring.I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay T
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect base for exploring the area”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a charming, spacious, well-appointed and extremely comfortable apartment, equipped with everything for a most enjoyable holiday. The owners Paul and Christina replied promptly to our emails and gave us very clear directions for our arrival and information about what to do locally. The apartment was nicely prepared for us, including a bottle of wine, biscuits, flowers and milk in the fridge. The location of Canal View couldn't be more perfect. The Kennet & Avon Canal is just outside and offers a very pleasant stroll into the City of Bath via Sydney Street Gardens. Going the other way along the towpath takes you into the beautiful and tranquil Limpley Stoke Valley. Altogether this is our idea of the perfect break ...superb walking and the beds are so, so comfy at the end of the day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to depart
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic flat”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We spent a great week staying at Canal View with our 4 children (10, 8, 6 & 4). The accommodation was smartly finished and well equipped. We had a large double bed, which was curtained from the lounge. 2 children shared another double room and two more a twin room. Parking was usually possible in the shared car park, although this could be tight at times. There was also easy parking on the edge of the road. The walk in to Bath was pleasant and took us about 45 minutes and there were also frequent buses. Only 200m away or so was a Chef and Brewer pub which was pleasant and child friendly. There were loads of activities and places to visit in Bath and Bristol and we were kept busy all week! I would definitely recommend staying here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Idyllic location and excellent facilities”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Canal View. The facilities were very comfortable and included everything we needed to ensure a relaxing stay. Paul provided very clear instructions on how to get to the accommodation which certainly came in handy. We dined at the George Inn which is literally just over the bridge and were served by friendly staff with real home cooked meals. The walk into Bath was a highlight and certainly one I would recommend. I am optimistic enough to think we will be back and we will stay here. This is one place I would certainly recommend to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleaniness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShairanHu...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“It was like staying at your own family home”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The house, location and most importantly the owner are simply brilliant!

The house is nicely furnished and practical. The log stoves are lovely. Wooden flooring makes it easy to manage. Nice and cosy living room where the whole family can sit together and plan what to do for the day. The kitchen is well equipped. Everything that you need, and more. The owner thoughtfully place a pack of milk in the fridge, a bottle of wine and biscuit on arrival, which my teenage daughters munched through in 5 mins! Small touches make this house special. Instead of just stove, pots and pans, the owners made available basic cooking stuff like olive oil, pepper, soy, salt etc. Instead of just a washing machine, the owner made available detergent.

The location is very nice. Only 5 mins ride from Bath. It is next to a beautiful canal, which we enjoyed walking alongside. Ducks and geese, and boats run and up and down the canal.

The owner communicates professionally and responded to any query promptly. My daughter accidentally left her wallet on our last day. She only realised it as we were about to reach the airport. The owner texted me to inform that he had found a wallet, which he kindly arranged for delivery across the world to Malaysia where we are from. It arrived today, and my daughter is relieved that she got back her ID card and driving licence before she goes back to school next week.

We reached home with fond memories of our stay at Canal View. Thank you to the owner for letting us stay at your lovely house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner is helpful, house is great
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing