We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Headland, Kent

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoors or out - your choice!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Indoors or out - your choice!
Master bedroom with garden views
Versatile room that can be used to sleep two (with a pull-out trundle), one, a baby, or simply to re
We are right opposite the Pines Gardens - a National Trust property. Lovely for walks
Local Kentish wines, ales and lagers from Biddenden are a great addition to your Kent holiday
Kitchen, table laid and waiting to start the evening! Table extends and can be used for four
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's Bay, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
davidgZ55...
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Headland is a smart, self sufficient and well equipped 2 bed apartment with the owners house above. Superb walks straight out of the road in front to the lighthouse or down into the village. Also loved the shingle beach at Deal and Walmer. There are some minor niggles like noisy fridge and pumped drainage. Should really be a 4* rating but 2 van loads of builders turned up to work in the main house banging about above us which we hadn't been warned about. That wasn't great so rating downgraded to 3*

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location. superb dog walks on the doorstep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2015
Dear Guest,
we are pleased that you found the location excellent, and enjoyed the apartment. I am sorry that we had not advised you in advance that there will be some works on the main house on the last day of your stay only. The truth is, the works had only been agreed one day before.

Considering that I charged you nothing for adding one extra person and a dog to your booking, as well as spent half an hour with holiday lettings helpdesk to enable you to move the booking without penalty by two weeks due to no fault of mine, I was hoping you could excuse this oversite on my part of not letting you know about building works in advance.

Please also note the works were conducted 3 floors above your apartment, in the attic.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby10t
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Our stay at Healand cottage wasn't ready for our first nights stay, however the owners of the cottage booked us a nights stay at a local hotel, inclusive of breakfast, free of charge. This was not an inconvenience, but a lovely surprise and a wonderful nights stay.
Headland cottage was very impressive on our arrival, spotlessly clean, and very well equipped for our stay. Fresh linen, free Internet, dishwasher, washing machine and fridge freezer. We couldn't have asked for a nicer little cottage. The area is very idilic with the local pub a must to visit.
All in all we would defiantly be booking again for a visit, well worth every penny......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and the fully equipped cottage
Liked least: Had to go outside for signal for mobile
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

St. Margret's Bay is a very special place. The location of this accommodation is very remote and peaceful. Wonderful walks right from the doorstep. Good base for exploring the local area, Dover Castle, White Cliffs. the light house, Deal etc.. The apartment itself is spotlessly clean, perfectly equipped and cosy. It has WIFI but mobile connection is limited. It has two bedrooms but was perfect for the two of us. I would not hesitate to recommend this apartment to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No mobile coverage ( I am discussing with Vodafone)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation, and for sharing your impressions of St Margaret's and Headland. Chuffed :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable cottage with coastal walks on the doorstep”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Cottage was clean, comfortable and well equipped. A highlight was to be able to get onto the cliff top walks from the front door, left to Deal and right to Dover. Good food available at several pubs in the area. Tour of South Foreland Lighthouse with our own dedicated guide was very interesting. Broadstairs and Canterbury were our favourite places visited by car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed even if low down
Liked least: No pint glasses, but I coped!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terence_o...
1 review
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Headland cottage for a Week and it was great. Every Morning we went for a 3 hour walk with our dog at the Cliffs and enjoyed every Minute of it. Down the bay the Coastguard pub was our local. Meals were very good and the Staff very Friendly. We will be back again and Thank you for a great Week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sound at 5.30 of the waves and seagulls. I always wake uo early
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing