We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ancient Oaks

Ancient Oaks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ancient Oaks
Sun terrace facing the swimming pool Scented pathway from the house to the carpark
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Ancient Oaks
Sun terrace facing the swimming pool
Scented pathway from the house to the carpark
Sun Deck with rocking chairs
Pool and sundeck
Outside hanger with barbecue and fridge
Outside  eating area with gas BBQ and drinks fridge
Dining Al Fresco
Entrance hall under the mezzanine
Kitchen Dining area
Vast open lounge/kitchen/dining room. Ideal for family parties
Large open kitchen/dining area
American style kitchen. fridge can deliver up to 150 ice cubes per day!
Master Bedroom
View from master bedroom
En suite to master bedroom
Triple bedroom
Large double bedroom
Downstairs Bedroom
Downstairs shower room
Staircase to mezzanine
Private garden
Drinks under the pergola
Spacious leefy garden
Private off road parking for 3-4 cars
Rock garden at Jaumatres
Boat trips at Crozan
View of gorge from the restaurant at Crozan
Games at Lake Sidialles beach
Cycling on the canal towpath
Cycling pit stop alongside the canal
Sidialles Lake with sandy beach, pedalos, canoes,.tree walks, ziplines and snack bar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chateaumeillant, Cher, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
bowbe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic week here in August 2016. I would whole heartedly recommend this gite for a great family holiday. Dave and Di were the perfect hosts - on hand if we needed them, but otherwise left us to enjoy our holiday. The pool is fairly small but enough to cool off and have fun... our children loved it. The house and garden are both spacious and lovely - as 6 adults and 4 children, we all had our own space and were perfectly happy here. We particularly enjoyed daytimes by the pool and in the garden, and evenings in the undercover barbecue area. We didn't explore the local area too much but had a few walks from the gite (lovely countryside/middle of nowhere) as well as our daily walk to the local shop to collect our fresh bread and pastries...and had a full day out at Branche Aventure which was great. The accommodation completely caters for a large family group (including mobility restricted with one downstairs bedroom and bathroom). We would have happily stayed for two weeks and hope to stay again one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Ancient Oaks and would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
Best wishes Di and dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zan A
1 review
“Relaxing, peaceful, home from home set in a beautiful and quiet location.”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A well managed and tastefully furnished and kitted out house. Di and Dave were excellent, professional hosts but not at all intrusive. One of our party needed to take their car to the garage which they arranged and took him to, to ensure he was treated/charged fairly! The garden is beautiful and plenty of space to loose the children or find a quiet space to get away from it all! The pool was fab - cleaned daily which provided great entertainment for the little ones! The outdoor BBQ area was just right to eat en-masse and enjoy the warmer summer evenings. The perfect, relaxing holiday - lots to do in the area but such a lovely house you may not want or need to go too far away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Dear Zan, thank you so much for your lovely and informative review. Dave and are so pleased to read your lovely comments about Ancient Oaks and the surrounding area and especially pleased you all enjoyed your holiday so much. We very much enjoyed you staying at Ancient Oaks and hope to see you in the future.
Di and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s220875
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
1 review
“6 Stars are deserved both for the house and the ownwers”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just enjoyed a wonderful 2 week holiday at Ancient Oaks with our daughter, son-in - law and her family of 4 children aged 2 - 11.
The house is perfect for a family and the garden is as described.. safe and LARGE. Kids had a great time exploring.
Hosts Di and Dave live in an adjacent cottage and gave a warm welcome and also a fantastic (pre-booked) dinner on arrival. Wine was excellent.
Do not consider owners next door a negative.. unobtrusive but there if you have any questions about the local area.
Also if you have left a dog at home Molly the Collie is happy to play fetch in the garden if you ask Dave to borrow her!
Swimming pool safe (fenced and alarmed) and warm and ideal for wee ones.
Barbeque area (large barn with table) was great for dining and also chilling from the sun Beer fridge was well used!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foodie590
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a stay in Ancient Oaks. From beginning to end everything was perfect. The owners are really nice people. I had to make a change to my booking and they were so accommodating and understanding. They could have charged me but they didn't.
They were also quick to reply to any queries.

We have five children aged between 4 and 12. They all loved the house and garden. It is a converted barn which has been lovingly restored and the result is really beautiful . The house has every modern convenience and is light and airy.
It even managed to stay relatively cool when temperatures soared outdoors. The rooms are tastefully decorated ,and all have lovely smells from whatever oils etc that are in most rooms.Someone has a real talent for interior decor!

The garden is the prettiest I have ever been in. Huge trees overhang a beautiful, natural space which is not overly manicured. It retains all its natural beauty. Pretty roses and herbs abound.
The garden has boules, table tennis and of course the pool. This was maintained so well by Dave and Di but they were like the elves coming to make the shoes when they came to clean it lol!! Completely unobtrusive.

The outdoor kitchen is great and the barbecue is really superb. We enjoyed a number of great meals outdoors.
The owners live on site but are so good, they will only make contact if you need them. They have a lovely dog too , Molly,which was a big hit with our kids!
I couldn't hesitate to to recommend this lovely place. Thanks Dave, Di and Molly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Little bit remote
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen K
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 1 week with 7 adults, 3 under 5's and a baby. There was plenty of room for all of us. The house is beautiful and exceeded all expectations. The gardens are lovely, plenty of room for the little ones to run about and the pool is superb. Dave and Di are fabulous hosts, even providing a meal on arrival (at a very reasonable cost), this was most welcome after a long drive. This is a lovely part of France and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ancient Oaks and hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing