We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JaneWatso...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a wonderful week at Hause Hall, Cruik Barn and the Stables with a family gathering of 14 and one dog. Booking was easy and the communications excellent. Arriving at the property we were treated to stunning views of the Martindale and Boredale valleys from the elevated position of the house. Fresh bread, eggs, biscuits and an enormous bowl of fresh fruit greeted us inside in the beautifully appointed main house. The kitchen, with its aga was fully equipped with all that was needed to cater for a small army, the enormous dining table seated the entire family and the wonderful conservatory was just perfect to watch the sunset over the hills behind Ullswater.
All the bedrooms are beautifully decorated, the beds comfy and the whole place spotlessly clean.
It is an ideal location to set out on numerous good quality walks without the need to get into a car. We cycled, swam in the lake and walked the fells.
This is a wonderful place to stay, our week went by too quickly so we have booked again for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2018
Hi
Your holiday at Hause Hall Farm sounds utterly idyllic! I'm glad you found everything you needed and we look forward to welcoming you back next summer! Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian196820...
Codsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had to leave too soon....!”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A long weekend just isn't long enough when you have such lovely accommodation and surroundings. With the log fire burning, the beef roasting in the Aga, and the stunning view from the day room across the hills, who would ever need to step outside? But it is truly too tempting not to explore the fells and dales, so bring your walking boots! Ten guests left with some great memories. Thank you all for a wonderful break. We all hope to be back one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2018
Hi
Thanks for your super review. Your log fire and roasting beef sound very tempting, the perfect backdrop to the great view from the day room! We're really pleased you were able to get out for some lovely walks in The Lake District. We would be delighted to welcome you back if your travels bring you back this way in the future. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
389isabel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special and superb seclusion”
Reviewed 23 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Be prepared for the hairpin bend to the crest of the hill , but the location is worth every drop of adrenaline!
Definitely the most spacious, warm, comfortable accommodation which offered the 12 of us space and relaxation away from the stresses of the big world out there.
The best location in 25 years of weekends away (often twice a year, so that's a lot of rental properties!)
If you want peace, captivating views and endless choice of walking or just gazing at the stunning vista ,this is the place for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Wow ! Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding Hause Hall Farm and it is good to know you rate the Hall so highly in your 25 years of weekends away ! We are so pleased to receive such great feedback and feel really happy knowing you all had such a good time.
Please get back in touch next time you are planning a weekend away in The Lakes.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123Southa...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodation with outstanding views”
Reviewed 22 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed at the barn and farm as there were a number of us but we could easily accommodate everyone at the large kitchen diner/ living areas, as one group, with plenty of plates, cutlery etc. Beautiful accommodation - with great attention to the smaller but important details that one appreciates, such as the toilet sets ( Molton Brown no less!) in each of the many bathrooms. The view from the large conservatory was stunning and the gardens well kept and inviting, with plenty of outdoor seating. We loved the open fire in the living area; the rooms were warm from good central heating and plenty of hot water. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. We go away as a group twice yearly. This is among the best of the lot in a 25 year history.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Hi,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review after your recent stay at Hause Hall Farm. We are so pleased you all had such a nice time and enjoyed the stunning views from the day room - they are truly beautiful at any time of year !
We would love to welcome your group back to Hause Hall again should you be planning a future trip to The Lakes.
Best regards,
Christine, Charlie & Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tykesinfr...
Tours, France
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect house in the perfect location”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This was the most amazing place to celebrate with family and friends.
The owners of this property have really thought about how it would be used and then made sure that everything is provided. Whatever we needed was provided -even the fire was ready to light!
The two kitchens were very well equipped and there was a recycling area by the back door.
My friends added hot tub hire as a birthday treat which was sited on the terrace with the wonderful views of the hillsides. The hire company,(Cumbrian Hot Tub Hire) was recommended by the Rowley estates and they had it all in place on our arrival.
We also had a meal catered by Lynne Hilditch, again recommended by the owners.This was definately one of the highlights of our stay! The food was wonderful and the service she and her assistant provided was very professional.
For the walkers, you can start at the garden gate and there are a variety of good walks, including a short walk to the Howtown hotel for a drink! We used the steamer to cross the lake, and then walked home one day. We had a delivery of food from Tesco and then didnt move our car all week.
The road up to Martindale from Howtown is very steep with hairpin bends for 1/2 mile so we were happy not to be constantly driving up and down to get anywhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Hi
Thanks so much for your lovely, positive review. I'm so pleased that you found everything you needed had been provided, this is what we aim for. A hot tub on the terrace at Hause would be a great place to relax with those spectacular views! We will pass your compliments on to Lynne Hilditch. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing