We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location”

Review of Stag Cottage

Stag Cottage, three ensuite bedrooms, private front and gated rear gardens, open fire and terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stag Cottage, three ensuite bedrooms, private front and gated rear gardens, open fire and terrace.
The arched entrance to Melmerby Hall and Stag Cottage. The access to Stag Cottage is to the left. The spacious sitting room at Stag Cottage with views over the front garden and woodland.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Stag Cottage, three ensuite bedrooms, private front and gated rear gardens, open fire and terrace.
The arched entrance to Melmerby Hall and Stag Cottage. The access to Stag Cottage is to the left.
The spacious sitting room at Stag Cottage with views over the front garden and woodland.
The fully equipped kitchen houses modern appliances and all the accessories of an everyday home.
Stag Cottage has a handmade, beech kitchen with granite worktops.
The breakfasting kitchen overlooking the terrace and rear garden.
The dining room overlooking the lovely gardens
The spacious dining room
The dining room
The Master Bedroom with a 5ft carved oak bed
The spacious Master Bedroom with ensuite bathroom
The Master Bedroom ensuite
The Master Bedroom en-suite
The Threlkeld Bedroom 6' double bed, which can convert to single beds.
The Threlkeld Bedroom with en-suite
The Threlkeld en-suite bathroom at Stag Cottage has a full sized bath with shower mixer tap
The Dacre ensuite bedroom.
The ground floor Dacre bedroom
The gated rear garden. A Weber barbecue is provided for guest use along with complimentary charcoal.
Outside dining area.
The gated garden with dining area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Howtown, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GlobeTrot...
1 review
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Stag Cottage, melmerby is a beautiful character cotttage, lots of atmosphere with modern kitchen. Lovely private garden. Situated in village with tasty cafe/bakery and friendly pub serving excellent food. Walks nearby. Welcome hamper with all local produce was really appreciated. Would definitely stay here again. This property has an internal adjoining door to melmerby Hall so ideal if your party has a larger number of guests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to leave a great review of Stag Cottage in Melmerby. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the character and atmosphere of the cottage and its lovely garden. We are delighted that the hamper was enjoyed and the village eateries and walks to your liking. It is great that it adjoins Melmerby Hall and if your travels bring you to Cumbria again, we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katykins8...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Girls weekend in the country”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Just got back from a fantastic weekend at Stag Cottage with my friends. Booked as an easter weekend break for us. The location is absolutely beautiful. Rural but within an easy drive of Penrith if you need anything. The cottage has everything you could need for 6 people! The kitchen is more well stocked than my own home! The 3 ensuite bathrooms made it perfect so that no one was waiting around to get showered, washed etc. This is the third time I've stayed in one of Rowley Estates cottages and as with the other two it is the perfect break away from everything. Contact with Jilly and Christine was consistent and they answered all the questions I had within a couple of hours. The fact that it is dog friendly just takes it to the next level. A secure garden so I could let her out to have a run around without having to be on lead was such a plus and what so many cottages lack. Can't wait to book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Hi
Thanks for your super review. We're delighted to hear that you found Stag Cottage to be so well equipped and that you had everything you needed for yourselves and for your dog. We will be very pleased to welcome you back for a fourth stay next time your travels bring you to Cumbria and The Lake District. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“60th birthday stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a wonderful time at stag cottage...lovely location..village very friendly and a brill pub... beautiful cottage..this cottage is excellent...very clean... welcome hamper on arrival... plenty of reading matter and board games...basics are provided...lovely wood burner...when we stayed it was snowing and blowing a blizzard but the cottage was very warm..plenty of wood for the fire..beds very comfy...lovely bathrooms..wood differently stay again...this is the second time we have stayed at a Rowley estate cottage and I would highly recommend it...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2018
Hi
Thanks for your super review. It's great to hear that you were warm and cosy in Stag Cottage even when the snow was doing its worst outside! The board games and books really come into their own when the weather is so awful! I hope you will make a return visit when the sun might be shining! Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue K
Hill Head, Fareham
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We were delighted with our stay at Stag cottage.
Accommodation was excellent - very comfy bed and linen.
Wifi, t.v, radio all worked well.
As for welcome pack... i've never seen anything quite like it... bread, butter, cereal, juice, toffee, wine, milk etc etc...
Also the kitchen supplies were excellent - herbs and spices, tea towels, washing up liq, dishwasher tabs etc..
Local pub very welcoming although we didn't eat there.
Had breakfast at the village bakery - highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2018
Hi
Thanks for your great review. It's so good to hear that you found the beds to be really comfy and that you enjoyed the hamper so much. Stag Cottage is in such a super village at Melmerby and I'm pleased that you were able to enjoy the local facilities. Best Regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica R
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This is my second visit back to The Stag (rented along side Melmerby Hall and Kirkbride Cottage). I rented the property to host a yoga retreat and on behalf of myself and guests I can say we were overwhelmed with the weekend. Luxury Accommodation, Beautiful Location, all round perfect venue and much appreciated help when we needed it from the owner/estate manager. Already booked another weekend here and have several more in the pipeline.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
Hi, thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review following your recent yoga retreat at Melmerby Hall, Stag Cottage and Kirkbride Hall. We are delighted you and your guests enjoyed the luxurious accommodation within the beautiful location of Melmerby, it is great to hear the properties work well for your retreat!
We are really looking forward to welcoming you all back again for future visits!
Best wishes, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing