We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pittwater YHA
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 140
USD 117
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Sands Narrabeen(Narrabeen)(Great Value!)
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 127
USD 90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brooklyn Motel(Brooklyn)(Great Value!)
USD 100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
NRMA Ocean Beach Holiday Resort(Umina Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 91
USD 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Mantra Ettalong Beach(Ettalong Beach)(Great Value!)
USD 139
USD 113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 96
USD 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 103
USD 77
Priceline
View Deal
    Savings alert! 10% below average rates

    The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 86/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Reviews (27)
    Filter reviews
    27 results
    Traveller rating
    19
    4
    2
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    19
    4
    2
    1
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 27 reviews
    Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

    YHA is a wondering example of a youth hostel - all you need with amazing views and wildlife. We booked it out for the weekend for a group of Girl Guides, but it's also ideal as a getaway for couples etc. Kayaking, lots of bush walks and potential boat tours make it an great option for a few days.

    However I won't be returning because of the abusive and extremely rude people that live very nearby. We walked down to catch the afternoon ferry and had a closing talk after a fantastic weekend with the Guides. As part of this the girls sing a thank you to the volunteer leaders.

    Sadly it appears the people who live next to the public footpath/public area/public wharf don't like a bit of noise during the day and we had a gentleman appear, abusive, threatening to call the police and telling us that this was private land (it's a public wharf with public footpath) Immediately after a woman also appeared and was extremely rude also and quite frankly I'm left baffled by the whole exchange. Despite apologising and explaining that there would be no more noise, since we had finished our 1 minute singing already, they chose to not go back to their 'very important work' we had interrupted on a Sunday and instead stood and stared at us until the ferry arrived to collect us.

    We're Girl Guides so we're not intimidated by this sort of behaviour and thankfully our Guides (who as children are already integrated into society), behave extremely well and know to rise above such rude, irrational behaviour. Please be warned.

    Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    Thank stephaniek742
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    YHA_Backpacker, General Manager at Pittwater YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

    Hi Stephanie
    Thanks for your review and we are glad you and the girls enjoyed our very unique location and setting. We were sorry to hear that you had an upsetting experience as you left. We can assure you though that thousands of guests stay with us each year with no issues whatsoever. If you ever have concerns like this after a stay with YHA, please don't hesitate to contact the manager directly to discuss the problem.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2016

    Had a brilliant one night stay at the Pittwater YHA in November. Great place to take international visitors on a budget so they get to experience the beauty of the area. Arrived on a 40C day, super hot. Bobbie looked after us and ensured we were well hydrated with chilled water. Superbly organised hostel with great kitchen and BBQ facilities. Need to take all food and alcohol.

    • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Kathryn C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 July 2015

    I stayed in Pittwater YHA with my friends and it was a wonderful stay for us! We received a warm welcome when we arrived at the accommodation, and we also found that the room and the bathroom is really clean! Pittwater YHA is really suitable for people travelling in groups.

    Pittwater YHA also provide us with a full set kitchen and it also really clean! In the night, we gathered in the lounge to play and have a chat. The lounge is really comfortable with the fireplace installed and they also provide us with musical instruments (Guitar, and Ukulele), so we can sing and play together.

    The best features in here is the stunning view! Don't forget to watch the sunrise! You can watch it directly from the hostel or you can watch it from Morning Bay Wharf. There are a lot of activities to do when you stay there, such as Kayaking, Fishing, Bush Walking, Photo Hunting, etc.

    Overall, it was a 5/5 stay! We definitely will coming back!

    • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Soerdja
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 February 2015

    You need to get the bus from the city then a ferry then a walk to get here and bring your food and drink so needs some planning but one of those hostels that relive the tradition of hosteling not just another room to stay. Lucy who was in charge when we arrived briefed us well, we hired kayaks, we walked we ate we watched the world go by . Hostel does not have to or wifi... And facilities not those of city centre new builds but has midge spray, filtered water to drink, kitchen families and all you need

    • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank rainbow003
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 February 2015

    Great overnight stay with my sister whilst she was visiting us in Sydney (two women in our fifties) - a truly away from it all place just over an hour from the city. You arrive by boat from Church Point ($15 return) and climb a relatively steep (muddy and uneven) path to the YHA.

    It has 8 rooms and about 30 beds - including 2 private double /twin rooms (room 5 and room 2 - room 5 is small and dark, room 2 is the best with a door to the front terrace and very light and roomy). Mattresses very comfortable, with good pillows. Sheet sets cost $3 per person to rent. There are two toilets and 3 showers to share. Hot water and good pressure. Everything spotlessly clean.

    A lovely lounge with leather sofas, books and a fire. Large well equipped kitchen - small hob and microwave and a gas BBQ. You must bring all your supplies with you.

    The views are amazing over the treetops to Pittwater. The best view was the morning we got up before sunrise and climbed a steep path to the sunrise lookout - stunning. There is a nice loop walk back via the small dam - a good hour and a half walk before breakfast. We saw a few wallabies, glossy black cockatoos - and a lyrebird. No possums or king parrots.

    The two staff were very welcoming. The night we stayed the whole area had an electric cut - but for us that added to the charm. We cooked steaks on the BBQ and had with salad and wine, in candlelight and an almost full moon. Stunning. Bacon on the BBQ on rolls for breakfast with fruit.

    Other activities include other walks direct from the lodge. Via the boat you can also go to Scotland island for a walk and other bays. From Church Point there is a boat to Palm beach and from there to other beaches and the Hawkesbury river. Boat to Great Mackrel beach and a walk to West Head (takes all day there and back) is great. A climb up to Barrenjoey lighthouse is also well worth it. You can kayak from the YHA - around to Elvina bay or over to Scotland Island, or even over to the small beach opposite the YHA.

    If you get chance have lunch or breakfast at the Boatshed. Food at Church Point is also good.

    After just one night at this YHA we felt like we had had an escape back to nature. Everyone in Sydney should do it - at least for 1 night; 2-3 even better.

    Room Tip: For a double/twin ask for room 2.
    • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    3  Thank gerbilsontour
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews