We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
19
4
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
4
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2015

I stayed in Pittwater YHA with my friends and it was a wonderful stay for us! We received a warm welcome when we arrived at the accommodation, and we also found that the room and the bathroom is really clean! Pittwater YHA is really suitable for people travelling in groups.

Pittwater YHA also provide us with a full set kitchen and it also really clean! In the night, we gathered in the lounge to play and have a chat. The lounge is really comfortable with the fireplace installed and they also provide us with musical instruments (Guitar, and Ukulele), so we can sing and play together.

The best features in here is the stunning view! Don't forget to watch the sunrise! You can watch it directly from the hostel or you can watch it from Morning Bay Wharf. There are a lot of activities to do when you stay there, such as Kayaking, Fishing, Bush Walking, Photo Hunting, etc.

Overall, it was a 5/5 stay! We definitely will coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

You need to get the bus from the city then a ferry then a walk to get here and bring your food and drink so needs some planning but one of those hostels that relive the tradition of hosteling not just another room to stay. Lucy who was in charge when we arrived briefed us well, we hired kayaks, we walked we ate we watched the world go by . Hostel does not have to or wifi... And facilities not those of city centre new builds but has midge spray, filtered water to drink, kitchen families and all you need

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rainbow003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Great overnight stay with my sister whilst she was visiting us in Sydney (two women in our fifties) - a truly away from it all place just over an hour from the city. You arrive by boat from Church Point ($15 return) and climb a relatively steep (muddy and uneven) path to the YHA.

It has 8 rooms and about 30 beds - including 2 private double /twin rooms (room 5 and room 2 - room 5 is small and dark, room 2 is the best with a door to the front terrace and very light and roomy). Mattresses very comfortable, with good pillows. Sheet sets cost $3 per person to rent. There are two toilets and 3 showers to share. Hot water and good pressure. Everything spotlessly clean.

A lovely lounge with leather sofas, books and a fire. Large well equipped kitchen - small hob and microwave and a gas BBQ. You must bring all your supplies with you.

The views are amazing over the treetops to Pittwater. The best view was the morning we got up before sunrise and climbed a steep path to the sunrise lookout - stunning. There is a nice loop walk back via the small dam - a good hour and a half walk before breakfast. We saw a few wallabies, glossy black cockatoos - and a lyrebird. No possums or king parrots.

The two staff were very welcoming. The night we stayed the whole area had an electric cut - but for us that added to the charm. We cooked steaks on the BBQ and had with salad and wine, in candlelight and an almost full moon. Stunning. Bacon on the BBQ on rolls for breakfast with fruit.

Other activities include other walks direct from the lodge. Via the boat you can also go to Scotland island for a walk and other bays. From Church Point there is a boat to Palm beach and from there to other beaches and the Hawkesbury river. Boat to Great Mackrel beach and a walk to West Head (takes all day there and back) is great. A climb up to Barrenjoey lighthouse is also well worth it. You can kayak from the YHA - around to Elvina bay or over to Scotland Island, or even over to the small beach opposite the YHA.

If you get chance have lunch or breakfast at the Boatshed. Food at Church Point is also good.

After just one night at this YHA we felt like we had had an escape back to nature. Everyone in Sydney should do it - at least for 1 night; 2-3 even better.

Room Tip: For a double/twin ask for room 2.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

My husband & I were looking for a rejuvenating few days away in nature by the sea without having to pay a fortune. I was told about the Pittwater YHA was an incredible spot for people who love nature with the pleasure of a simplicity. So true. I love that there was no T.V. Walking down to the jetty each morning diving into the water, reading in hammocks, meeting all sorts of people from all sorts of backgrounds, was so refreshing as you could be a anyone there and people wouldn't know, as everyone was on the same level. Being in the dense national park was so stunning with visits from the wallabies was a treat. The humble yet clean environment, topped with great hosts of Michael & Sarah make you feel at home. I also appreciated that it was a sustainable environment too. We will be back

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

The location is stunning, but depending on luck with transport can 2 hours or 4 hours if travelling by public transport from Sydney CBD.
Mangers are sticklers with check out time and will not allow bags to be stored even a little while. So if you arrived much later than expected it is not that easy to go for a long walk the next morning. Given the travel time you feel hard done by and worse when told that as the hostel has been booked there is not to be any sign of other guests in the vicinity.
Hostel advertised as offering basic accommodation, kitchen was very good, the showers/toilets and had basins need to be cleaned better.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chillin335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews