We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
59
65
13
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
65
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk starved rock room was clean working order hot tub walk in shower third floor arrived late in the evening plenty of food room reservation hotel chains yogurt next morning convenient location very nice hotel breakfast choices state park
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

King room. Inside room quiet heard nothing from the hall. I did keep the TV on all night with the volume low to assure myself a good nights rest. The room has a big bathroom with fantastic lighting. Good strong water pressure. The pool was not a hot commodity while I was there. Meaning I enjoyed the pool and hot tub with just a few others. It was peaceful just what I wanted and needed after a full day working. Typical breakfast I had hot tea had a good selection of teabags. Hardboiled egg and fresh fruit I had banana and orange. Plenty of food and easy to reach even with the room being fairly full.

Room tip: Get room early it does fill up fast due to being close to Starved Rock
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debrah34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrate H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear debrah34,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay at our property and our amenities during your stay. Thank you for selecting to stay with us during your travels to Ottawa.
We will hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

When we arrived, the lobby was clean and welcoming. Check in was smooth and the room was clean. Next morning however, we had slept poorly as the bed was very uncomfortable (lumpy and noisy). When we asked if there was another bed type available we were told " all the beds in this hotel were purchased 10 years ago when we opened so they are all the same". The agent was very dismissive. Later, when we returned around 2:30 we discovered the room had not been serviced yet. When we inquired at the front desk we were told house keeping had gone home for the day. No apologies or offers were made. We had to ask for new towels, which the agent obliged, but no further assistance was offered. The hotel was useful for visiting family but not particularly pleasant.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodietravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrate H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Foodietravelers5,



Thank you for choosing to stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area and providing your honest.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations.The experience you described is not characteristic of the level of service our associates strive to
provide
As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent the issues you described from occurring in the future.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope you give us the chance to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

What a wonderful place. I am away on business, and have actually enjoyed myself. This place is clean and comfortable. It smells good, and has a hot breakfast. The breakfast isn't amazing, but it will get you full! No noise problems from neighbors. Even the doors are heavy. The front desk staff is absolutely amazing. Close by to grocery stores, restaurants, and gas stations. Starved Rock is close by.
Please be aware that there are no bathtubs. That could be a small issue if traveling with small children.
Thanks for maintaining a great facility!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank skeep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrate H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear skeep84,

Thank you for this delightful review! We are very excited to hear that you were able to enjoyed yourself even while in business.

As a side note, we do have room with Bathtubs (Standard Doubles), but all of our King rooms are equipped with walk in showers.

THANK YOU!! once more for this review, we will hope to see you next time your travels bring you back to Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

This property is relatively new, located at the edge of town at the highway exit/entrance. We spent a long weekend to attend a festival in town. It was perfect. Clean, nicely furnished room. I would like two armchairs however. Our room only had one. The bathroom was adequate with a walk in shower/ no tub. The location was perfect for our purpose- a short less than 10 min drive into downtown. Staff were very friendly and helpful with maps and information. There is a hot breakfast included which was generous. Oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, hot scrambled egg & meat, toast, waffle- good start to the day. Only complaint here is that everything is served on disposables. This is a good choice if you’re coming to the area for business or one of the many outdoor attractions.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Go_Ask_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrate H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Go_Ask_Eddie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your honest and detailed feedback about our property. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay.
it was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you next time your travels bring you back to Ottawa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We stayed here with a very modest number of Marriott Award points. We were pleasantly surprised that this was one of the better Fairfield Inns that we have stayed at. Everything was attractive, clean and in good working order. The staff were also very professional and genuinely friendly. The beds were very comfortable and the tv and wifi worked flawlessly. The room was quiet and the shower was terrific. I would have no reservations about making reservations here again.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RedClayRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrate H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Ottawa Starved Rock Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear RedClayRambler,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving us this amazing review! We are very happy to hear that you were able to spend your hard earn Marriott Rewards points on a night stay at our property.
We hope to see you next time your travels bring you back to Ottawa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews