We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Vieng Xai Cave City
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
30
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
30
11
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We had a fascinating tour of the caves. Stayed overnight in Sam Neua having arrived on the bus late the night before from Luang Prabang. So we missed the early morning tour and ended up doing the 1:00 tour.

We needed to grab a bite and found this lovely place. Curry dishes were well prepared. The owner also spoke English. His place is small and easily missed. Sabadee.

Do rent bikes. Gives you more time in the caves.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank calfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Vieng Xay seems to be completely off the tourist path which is such a shame considering the rich history and stunning landscape. The town is small, but spread out, and surrounded by limestone peaks and cliffs that have hundreds of caves. 7 caves are open to the public and a guide will take you around, accompanied by a very informative audio guide. My guide spoke great English, answered all my questions, and we were able to take things slowly since I had a motorbike to get between sites. Tours run at 9AM and 1PM unless you want to pay more for a tour off the regular time. Highly recommend for people wanting to learn even more about the Secret War and how Laotians continued their lives and war while living in caves for 9 years.

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank katietkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2017

The tour at Vieng Xay caves was one of the most interesting things i saw in Laos. While the dual pricing is somehow way too much (60000 kip for foreigners while only 10000 for locals), the visit itself provides a deep insight - of course not propaganda-free - of the recent history of Laos and the hard struggle people went through during the "Secret War". Also, some of the caves are stunningly large. Beside the cave tour itself, the area around Vieng Xay is truly beautiful, dotted with limestone peaks and paddy fields. I had the luck to make friend with the teacher of a little english school for local students (hmong and lao), and i really reccommend to go and visit this place if you have one or two hours to spare. Anytime is fine since the school has also a dormitory for the students and there's always people around. The students are always happy to practice their english chatting with foreigners, and the teacher Bronglee is very welcoming and a very interesting person to talk to and gives a lot of information about local culture, both hmong and laos. The school is just a 2 minute walk off road 6, coming from Sam Neua get past the junction to the caves, and take the second little dirt road (going a bit uphill) on the left hand side after the big petrol station.
The visit to the caves (and the school as well) can easily be done as a 1 day trip from sam neua, but there are also plenty of accommodations and possibly better food in Vieng Xay itself.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank micpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

(The address as in the TA's listing is confusing - neither Vieng Xai nor the caves are directly on road 6.)

The tour includes six caves and takes about there hours (on the bikes). Don't expect any stalactites or so...the caves sometimes even look rather like hangars, having concrete walls and a roof. It's actually more about the history...

The English audio guide is well done. There could be less details and stories about the politicians...many things you'll likely forget just after having them heard.

The tour guide was nice local young guy with good level of English. His mother lived in the caves when she was young.

It's a few kilometers to go between all six caves, so the bicycles are necessary for that... The bike rental in the center is quite rip off though - two old crappy bikes for 3 hours cost more than half day motorbike rental in Thailand...

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank sedasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

An amazing part of my journey through Laos. Vieng Xai is a tiny village with a grand history. Take the audio tour of the caves, eat at the local Indian (the only) restaurant- all the food is made super fresh so it takes time, and see the town. Although you will only need a day here, it is so worth it.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Destination451239
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews