We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 91
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 114
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
USD 110
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 130
USD 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
USD 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
USD 87
USD 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 117
USD 84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
133
33
20
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
33
20
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsacross the streeta great family hotelhot tuba quick overnight triproom was cleanfront desk staffbiscuits and gravythe breakfast areashopping and diningnight clerktwo nightsbed and pillowsnext morninga wonderful staybeautiful hotelconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We stayed at this facility for one night in late December. The room and facilities were adequate/average. Nothing special; nothing really bad; other than the room phone not working at all, and the heating system not working properly.

The big issue was a curious change in price of the in-house movies. The movies were all priced in the $7.99 to $9.99 range the night before, but oddly jumped to around $20 the next morning, and that is what we were charged on our bill.

After complaining to the clerk I was actually told that the manager said we were charged more because the movie was an hour longer than most movies! I knew that excuse was BS, so I called HIE&S to file a complaint. Soon the hotel owner called and condescendingly said, “He was sorry” that I was wrong about the movie prices, but that he would graciously refund the difference between the advertised price and the charged price… I didn’t bother arguing too much since I knew that he realized he was caught.

There were also a couple examples of hotel employee incompetence. One of these was a screw-up by the clerk who actually ADDED the movie refund to the original inflated charge for the movie, but after a couple challenges he finally figured it out.

As a business owner myself I understand how difficult it is to find competent employees, but this hotel owner seems to be comfortable with employee incompetence.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bruce728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_De_Angelis, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank You for your comments !
We check the heat and it was set at 70 and we are sorry it was not turned up higher ! We appreciate your business and hope you will visit again !
Anthony De Anglis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

This is a very typical Holiday Inn Express. It’s a great family hotel with clean, comfortable bedding. The bathrooms were clean, the carpet was clean, and the lobby was clean. If we had any regret, it would only be that there weren’t more easily accessible outlets. But we definitely would compliment the staff. The desk clerk at check-in and the breakfast attendant were very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in helping in any way they could. Terrific midwest hospitality at an establishment that lives up to the chain’s positive reputation.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jada W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_De_Angelis, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank YOU very much for your Excellent Rating of 5 stars !
Please understand that we have the following outlets in each and every room.
2 outlets nest to the fridge on the wall.
2 outlets above the desk
2 outlets on the nightstand light stand
2 outlets on the desk lamp
Sorry you were not able to locate the outlets but we made sure when we built the hotel that we had plenty !
Thanks
Anthony De Angelis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Right from check-in, this was a pleasant and relaxing stay. There was plenty of parking, the clerk was courteous and helpful, the check-in went quickly and my room was large, well-laid-out, clean and comfortable.
The hotel is close to a major road (Veterans' Memorial Highway) and there is nearly unlimited shopping and dining to be found there.
I was pleased with the assortment of food at breakfast and the check-out was fast.
I will definitely stay at this Holiday Inn again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_De_Angelis, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks so much for you 5 Star response !
Out Staff will be very appreciate !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for an expensive, clean and comfortable stay this is a great option. Not a lot of bells and whistles but a great location (across the street from Walmart and within walking distance to shops and restaurants). Front desk staff was quick and helpful but if you are staying on a weekend and have a maintenance issue you will be out of luck. The hair dyer did not work in our room and we could not get a replacement or it fixed. However the breakfast was good, the rooms clean and the pool area was nice.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tonya1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_De_Angelis, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks you for your 4 Star Review !
Our Staff really strive to have perfectly clean rooms always !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Eight of us stayed here while on a motorcycle trip to Sturgis. We had no issues with anything. Rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. We left prior to breakfast being served so can't comment on that, however, the breakfast area looked very nice. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_De_Angelis, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks for your 5 Star Review !
Glad you had a great trip to Sturgis !
Please do come back !
Safe travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews