We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apple Picking and Wonderful Farm Experience ”

Kuipers Family Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit our 230 acre entertainment farm located just west of Chicago in rural Maple Park. This unique Midwest farm is located on both sides of a country road, offering customers an apple orchard and Christmas tree farm experience on the east side and a good, old-fashioned farm experience complete with pumpkin harvest on the west side! The season begins mid August when the orchard opens for apple picking. Off season the Orchard becomes the perfect backdrop for a chic one of a kind wedding your guests will rave about. Visit our website for exact dates, times, coupons, or to book a tour of the wedding facilities.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Went to Kuipers Family Farm for the second time, this one was for apple picking. Four adults arrived with a three year old and two that are 16 months old. Our first stop was the orchard and the wagon ride to the picking location. All the kids loved the wagon ride. In the apple orchard there were four types of apples to pick -- Blonds, Gala, Golden???, and Jonathans. Since we were going to make apple sauce, pies, and have some just for eating, we filled our bags with all four types. The three year old had a ball picking "the biggest one" from the trees and the twins rummage through the apples that had fallen on the ground. Of course, everyone had one variety or another that they were snacking on.

From the picking location, we took pictures of the kids on the old farm machinery, watched the goats play, and waved at the small train that took visitors on a ride near the orchards. Kids of all ages were having a blast. We picnicked on the grassy area and just enjoyed the day.

The final stop was the marketplace featuring seasonal items and eats, several types of caramel apples, apple pies, fresh breads and other eats. Finally into the fresh market to shop apples and other seasonal fruits and vegetables. We spent about three hours total at the farm with no melt downs and all the kids smiling. A grea day!!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Ruditooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimKuipers, Owner at Kuipers Family Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thanks so much for the kind words and for being our family farm customer! Kim Kuipers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pumpkin patch"
in 5 reviews
"corn maze"
in 5 reviews
"cider donuts"
in 4 reviews
"petting zoo"
in 3 reviews
"apple orchard"
in 5 reviews
"apple picking"
in 9 reviews
"farm experience"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 2 reviews
"pig races"
in 2 reviews
"pumpkin farm"
in 2 reviews
"pumpkins"
in 5 reviews
"trees"
in 5 reviews
"hayrides"
in 2 reviews
"railway"
in 2 reviews
"gifts"
in 3 reviews
"jellies"
in 2 reviews
"blast"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018

We have been going here for over 10 years now and sadly it is becoming a cash grab for the business. The place is great and has tons of stuff for the kids to do. They made a mistake by taking the family style meals out of the rotation and replacing it with fast food pizza and box burgers. They added a train that is a five minute ride for 5 bucks, a buck a minute! I know they have a limited window to make money, but some things should be throttled back a bit on price. I just see a lot of families not coming back because of the prices.

Date of experience: October 2017
4  Thank _brandon2138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We were just there for a wedding. The good. The place is really nice and the food was great. The bad. They took away plates and drinks while people were still eating and drinking. Go to the bathroom or out to dance and your full drink would be forfeit even 2 hours before the end of the evening. In the last hour you didn't even dare set a drink down while standing next to it. I think they were just running up the tab at the bar

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimKuipers, Owner at Kuipers Family Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for the review Dan and for the observations on the over-zealous table service that we will need to work on. We always appreciate the input!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We stop in occasionally as its close by but last year we had my Daughters wedding at Kuipers. I could write a book but can summarize by saying, the people we phenomenal, the venue was amazing and it was the perfect place for a wedding

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimKuipers, Owner at Kuipers Family Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you so much for continuing to support our family's farm Joe! Love that you continue to visit us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We came to do some apply picking in October/November of 2015. It wouldn’t let me select the date I needed. This was one of the most memorable trips we had. My husband and mother went on this trip. Took the train out to the apple trees and spent a few hours picking tons of apples and eating from the trees. Sooo many beautiful pictures to take also. This place is highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Jenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimKuipers, Owner at Kuipers Family Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for the nice review Jenn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuipers Family Farm also viewed

 

Been to Kuipers Family Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing