We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tree house in the woods”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tarn Hows

Tarn Hows
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tarn Hows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Tarn Hows
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
Dining Area
Double Bedroom
Bathroom
Patio Area
Private Neaum Crag Estate
central pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Skelwith Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
DionysusL...
Leeds
2 reviews
“A tree house in the woods”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful week in your lodge. The pool and table tennis table was a real hit with our 14 year old son - and the sauna was with me (after a long days walk). Even though we were in the heart of The Lake District, it wasn't busy in the slightest (if we avoided Ambleside), and so easy to use as a base for some great walks. Langdale is simply beautiful and so too is the Cumbria way which runs just below the site and takes in the wonderful Chesters (tea rooms). A super week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Dear Amanda,
So pleased you enjoyed your week. If ever you would like to spend another week at Tarn Hows you are very welcome and would be given preferential rates.

Regards,

Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottiedi
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Third time Tarn Hows.”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Third year at Tarn Hows.Fourth time Neaum Crag.
Great walks from the door..hide the car keys. Walk out from site to left and head towards loughrigg tarn but take path up left-side to go up over loughrigg fell and down to Grasmere water. Walk down by swimming pool down cut to Skelwith and round by Elterwater to Langdale and Dungeon Ghyll. Just couple of many walks.
Cabin is on road just as you come onto site so no steep climb to higher set cabins.
Enclosed patio area lovely to sit out after walks but not a sun trap due to trees but so relaxing.
Owner, Mark, very accommodating at answering any questions.
Main bedroom small and compact but bed comfy and pitch black at night.

Dog happy as always and knows where she is every time we return..sleeps for week when we get home.

Bath with shower..very good shower with plenty power.

Should not review so highly as might not get booking next year !!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Diane,

Many thanks for feedback - much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tarn Hows where we aim to improve your stay year on year.

Kind regards,

Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cg604
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing week”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Tarn Hows at Neaum Crag is a perfect little hideaway. The site is peaceful and all the cabins are set away from each other. The pool and sauna were an added bonus. The cabin was well equipped and it was easy to cook full meals there. Chesters by the river is a lovely cafe 10mins walk away which does great breakfasts. There are plenty of walks from the site or it is a great location to easily drive to other places. One thing to note is that there is a fairly steep path up to the cabin which wasn't a problem at all for us but may be for someone with mobility problems.
Would definitely recommend Tarn Hows and hope to be back in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
2 reviews
“Comfortable, well equipped and cosy. Beautiful location”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Enjoyed a late September week here. The location is wonderful. We walked in several directions from the cabin and would highly recommend it for a walking holiday as well as a central base for touring around the lakes. The cabin was well equipped, the beds comfortable with all linen provided and made up before arrival. Towels etc also provided. The cabin is well insulated and we were always comfortable and warm. The pool and sauna facility on the estate, 3 minutes walk from the cabin, is excellent and very welcome after a day of walking. We will be returning as soon as we can to continue our love of fell walking in the lakes.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaron657
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect retreat”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself and my partner absolutely loved going back to Tarn Hows at the end of our days out. It was a great holiday for us and the lodge definitely enhanced our sense of getting away from it all. We miss it already!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing