We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2015

My wife booked a room with two queen beds for a two night stay through HIE's website.The location was further from downtown than we wanted but we chose this since parking was free and it was located off I-290. The hotel's website said there is shuttle service to O'Hare and also to the blue line of the "L" into Chicago. We did not use the shuttle.

Check-in took longer than usual because the hotel was full the night before. This was not a big issue but we were told that instead of a room with two queen beds we were put in a mini suite with a king bed and a hide-a-bed. The front desk person said when my wife made the reservation on the website we agreed to whatever room was available. The road warriors may be aware of this but my wife wasn't. The hotel was full so she could not put us in another room. The mini suite wasn't bad but the the mattress in the hide-a-bed was thin and uncomfortable for my daughter to sleep on.

The selection for breakfast was good, the staff was busy restocking the counters both days we were there. The breakfast area was partitioned off from the main lobby which is my preference. The hot tub has a layer of foam the first day we arrived but was clean the next morning. The exercise area and pool is small. Wi-fi download 10 Mbps, upload 1.5 Mbps and was stable for me to login to my office.

Getting on I-290 was easy on the weekend but took longer during the weekdays. I gave this review a three star because of the hide-a-bed and hot tub issue. There is a Target, restaurants and a Skeecher's shoe outlet within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank drdoc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIChicagoWest, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thank you for staying at our hotel. I am so sorry that the sofa bed wasn't what you expected to be. We are making changes, so that any one else staying with us has a greater experience. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what needs improvement. We will continue to make the changes necessary, so that we meet our guest's expectations. Thanks again and enjoy the rest of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2015

Remember that stacys resturant is closed on sunday. do not go to tgif fridays in lombard ill worst place ever. shuttle was late . room was small. great breakfast! listen close front desk hard to understand

Room Tip: chose a room on west side near parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scout3Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIChicagoWest, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thank you for staying with us and for your feed back. I am sorry that our shuttle was late picking you up. I don't know how we failed to be there on time but rest assured, we will be more careful reserving the shuttle, so that what happened to you, will not happen to anyone else. We are also going to become more knowledgeable as to where we recommend our guests for a good meal. We hope to see you again soon? Thank you and enjoy the rest of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We stayed at this hotel because it seemed like all of Chicago was booked for the night we were visiting. The hotel was in very good condition, very clean and furnishings were up to date. The staff was very helpful, especially since we needed the shuttle service a lot. So, the drawback of this hotel is that it's not really that close to O'Hare (about 15 minutes) and it's also a bit away from the blue line station. They use the Forest Park station, not the O'Hare station, which made our trip into downtown a little longer than expected. However, the staff makes up for it by being very accommodating with shuttle rides. The shuttle was always where they said it would be when they said it would be there. There are restaurants and shops in walking distance, so that's a plus. I would definitely recommend this hotel if your destination is in the area, but if your destination is Chicago, there are better choices in the O'Hare area.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIChicagoWest, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Thank you so much for giving us a chance by staying at our hotel. I am glad that our team was able to make your stay memorable. Making our guests feel welcomed and enjoy their stay, is our number one goal. We hope you visit us again some day? Again, thank you for feed back and we wish you and your family, a wonderful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

OMG! this has to be one of the nasty's Holiday Inn Express that I have ever been to. Hair in the bathtub, hair in bed sheets, stains on the furniture. And the suites only have 1 Television! Breakfast was horrible, and no evening Manager Reception! Will not stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nitah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Dear nitah1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always our top priority to provide a great and satisfying stay for our valued guests. It is regrettable that some of our amenities fell below your standards. I would love to regain your faith in our hotel and and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

I do not usually stay at Holiday Inn's but all the other hotels were too expensive. It's a good price for the area. The check-in was chaotic because there was some sort of event going on. Being next to a major road way, it's a little noisy but it's barely noticeable if you keep the air/heat on. The curtains were dirty and the bedding average. Overall it was clean. The breakfast was edible, which is impressive, normally free breakfast is terrible. Kudos on the decent breakfast! I also like that it is a part of a shopping center! That's helpful when you need to run out for some items or a bite to eat.

Room Tip: Do not get an even numbered room, that is the side facing the major roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIChicagoWest, Guest Service Agent at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2015

We are glad we've exceeded what you expected from our hotel. Thank you for your feed back and for letting us know on what areas to improve with. We hope this is not the only time we get the pleasure to have you in our hotel?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillside
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Westchester (Oak Brook)
7.0 km away
The Carleton of Oak Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside
5.6 km away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
9.9 km away
Best Western Plus Chicagoland - Countryside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West

Address: 200 S Mannheim Rd, Hillside, IL 60162-1825
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Hillside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Price Range: $132 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from Downtown Chicago along I-290, our new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago Airport West - O Hare is near some of the nation s top companies, including Westbrook Corporate Center, Actuant, SAP, Navistar, Ace Hardware and Loyola Medical Center, and with easy access to Chicago s main highways, including I-88, I-294, and I-355.Situated in suburban Chicago, our hotel is an ideal location for travelers visiting nearby attractions such as Yorktown Mall, Oakbrook Mall, Drury Lane Theatre, Oakbrook Terrace, and downtown Chicago. Chicago s O Hare International Airport is (ORD) 6 miles and Chicago Midway International Airport (MDW) is 15 miles from the hotel.All rates include our daily hot Express Start Breakfast. Our hotel guest rooms include 32' flat panel HDTVs and free wired and wireless HSIA while our suites include microwaves, refrigerators and sofa sleepers. To make your stay more relaxed and comfortable enjoy our state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor heated pool. Stay connected in our 24-hour business center. Families can enjoy the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago Airport West - O Hare s easy access to many Chicago attractions such as Brookfield Zoo, Wrigley Field, U.S. Cellular Field, Soldier Field, United Center, Field Musuem, Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile by car or by Chicago s public transportation system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Chicago Airport West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing