We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
1,122 results
Traveller rating
1,041
57
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,041
57
16
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale sharks half board fish water villa our honeymoon semi circle his team sunset cocktails breakfast and dinner a la carte restaurant no shoes other resorts manta point different theme understated luxury marine life ping pong table
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,122 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I had the most wonderful 7-nights honeymoon at the Mirihi resort in August. A very small island, but although there were some 37 bungalows / beach villas, very rarely did the island felt busy - in fact most of the time completely deserted & Tranquil.

We stayed in a water bungalow, which was wonderful. An amazing array of sea life literally under your door step! The snorkelling on the house reef directly from the villa was great with turtles and Eagle Rays in abundance, as well as black tip sharks and Moray!

Diving - one of the best places in the world. So many sharks of varying species, Manta, Eagle Rays, Stingrays - amazing!.

Dining - WHAT CAN WE SAY?? We were upgraded to half board and we wouldn’t have been disappointed if we got full board option, because the food at the buffet was so amazing, you won’t get bored or tired of. The chef's did everyone proud. The head chef Prageeth, was informative, and very knowledgeable, especially on the day where they had the local cuisine for dinner, he explained all the weird and wonderful vegetables (that we don’t get in UK) and their qualities and nutritional value and where the food comes from & etc, & also the other chefs have been helpful. Such a variety and selection, the quality was outstanding. The Muraka, specialty restaurant too is a definitely a must do thing as the food and atmosphere is astonishing and wonderful. You can watch a beautiful sun set and have deliciously prepared food.

Staff - incredibly friendly, courteous, efficient and extremely helpful. Nothing ever appeared too much trouble!
Overall - if you want a quiet break, with excellent surroundings and good food, then Mirihi is definitely is the place! We will definitely be back for more brilliance.

Simon & Alice

Room Tip: would recommend water villas
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stay802529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen R, Front Office Manager at Mirihi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stay802529,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share such a beautiful review on Mirihi Island Resort.
It means so much to us that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us and it was an honour to share our "piece of paradise" with you for 7 days and we are delighted to read that you loved it.
We are amazed to hear that you especially loved the tastefully designed water villa with steps from the deck for direct accesses to the Ocean and our house reef - a beautiful experience indeed.

Our culinary team will be delighted to read that you found the food quality to be excellent and that Prageeth together with the team always managed to exceed your expectations. I am happy that you enjoyed your experience.

We take great pride in providing personalized service that comes from the heart and I will be glad to pass your kind words on to the rest of the team.

We would be more than pleased to welcome you at the resort whenever your travels bring you back to the Maldives.

Kind regards,
Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just enjoyed a week in an overwater villa to celebrate our 30th

It really was paradise. The views were like the cliche island travel posters except they were real

The staff were great and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. I complained that the bed was a little hard after the first night and they immediately swapped it for a softer mattress (which slept very well)

We had half board which was a brekky and dinner buffet. I am not a buffet fan, but this was excellent with a different theme every night and a delicious range of food.

We spent a lot of time snorkelling and fish life was amazing. The coral is recovering from a bleaching event.

We did one dive and really enjoyed the dive team and the dive itself. Saw scorpion fish, lion fish and some beautiful coral.

It was our anniversary and the staff went over and beyond to make our anniversary day special.

We leave with fond memories and strong desire to go back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BigLemon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen R, Front Office Manager at Mirihi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear BigLemon2000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great review of Mirihi Island Resort!
We are so honored that you chose to spend your 30th wedding anniversary with us. It means so much to us when guests choose our hotel for their special occasions. We are thrilled that we were able to help you both create such a wonderful memory of your time together at our hotel.
It is truly amazing for us to read how you describe the island as a wonderful place, a little gem and are mentioning that you found here a real paradise. We are delighted that you also enjoyed our buffets as well as our house reef with the rich marine sea life present around Mirihi.
I will forward your warm words to the team with pleasure and we are all looking forward to welcome you back to Mirihi Island Resort soon!

All the best,
Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We returned to Mirihri in September 2018 very excited to be returning after our first visit in 2012. Our first visit was fantastic, staff and management were very friendly, engaging and excited to have us as customers. The whole island and buildings had a warm atmosphere. This second visit the staff were much different and aloof and the new management was very unfriendly and uninterested in us as a customer. We also felt that the only thing that mattered was getting as many dollars from us as possible for every small item. The island is very beautiful, however, no more than many others that we have visited before. The recent renovation to the restaurant/reception also gives it a cold unfriendly feeling compared the first visit. The food was ok but not outstanding for the price charged. We will not be returning, there are better paradises in the Maldives for less money!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mrc780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen R, Front Office Manager at Mirihi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mrc780,

On behalf of us all, I would like to sincerely thank you for your stay and for the time you have taken to share your feelings with us. It is always very valuable for us to read guests' feedback – positive or not - to help us work on our areas of improvement. Needless to say, we were all disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations.

We take great pride in providing personalized service that comes from the heart and are disappointed that despite our efforts we were not able to deliver.

Even though our concept is very much thought through and has proven to be appreciated by our guests over the last years we were saddened to read that the quality of the food, the value for money and some soft factors did not meet your expectations.

I am personally terribly sorry that we missed out the opportunity to make this special occasion for you more memorable. Yet, your comments are duly noted, our team will continuously seek for new and innovative ideas to make sure all the guests enjoy the Mirihi experience in different ways.

With kind regards,

Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Mirihi with 2 kids (10 and 14) and stayed in the 2 bedroom overwater suite. Mirihi exceeded our expectations on all fronts.

The villa - was spectacular- very genorous amount of space and the house keeping staff kept it very clean which is not easy with the sand we brought in every day.

Marine life in house reef - this was really beyond expectations, we regularly saw reef sharks, moray eels, turtles, octopus, lion fish and so much more.

Food - the food was outstanding and I want to especially thank Fernando who was always present at meals and always smiling and happy to make something off menu.

Dive team - this was the very best part of the resort - Sebastian and Yuki - led us through tour open water course and were the very best dive instructors we could have hoped for. They were patient and thorough and fun.

The only aspect that didn’t live up to expectations was the whale shark excursion- the yacht was amazing but there were 50 + people in the water and the jostling and pushing was quite traumatic and scary. I was assured that this is not always the case.

Mirihi is special because they have the right priorities, the villas and reef, the dive team is brilliant and the food is outstanding. No wasted energy on orchids and swimming pools like the other resorts. I am glad they have no motorized water sports.

Thank you Antje for being lovely and super helpful. And an extemely special thanks to Shareef for showing us 4 planets, the moon and various other amazing sights through his very special telescope.

Regards and thanks
Sara

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Storyteller815496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen R, Front Office Manager at Mirihi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sara V,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it is so nice to hear such lovely feedback and that you enjoyed our beautiful surrounding as well as your rooms!

We are amazed to read that you enjoyed the time underwater with our Ocean Pro Dive Center team and I will certainly pass your comments on to Yuki and Sebastian.

It is an honor to now that you chose our resort and that Mirihi exceeded your expectations in terms of beauty of the island, the food and warm hospitality of our hosts Antje, Fernando and Shareef.

Thank you again for your wonderful feedback and we are all looking forward to your next visit to your home in Maldives, Mirihi Island Resort for another memorable family vacation.

Warm regards,
Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Fantastic location, the resort is beautiful and perfectly organized in any detail.
The personnel is very very nice, always ready to help. A special mention to the diving center team: we had a great time with all of them, I don't remember a place where I did such a high number of exiting dives!
Everything perfect! I hope I will be able to return to Mirihi soon.

Room Tip: we have been in the water villas and I strongly recommend them.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptamburini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen R, Front Office Manager at Mirihi Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear ptamburini,

It was so great meeting you and thank you for awarding us with the highest rating and for recommending Mirihi Island Resort to other travellers.
Your observations and kind words about the staff and especially the dive center team are greatly appreciated and keep us driven to provide remarkable service and a unique experience to all our guests.
We are so happy happy that you enjoyed your experience.
We would be more than pleased to welcome you at the resort whenever your travels bring you back to the Maldives.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews