We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good greasy food with ok portions”
Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #46 of 152 Restaurants in Gurnee
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Takeout
Description: Steak 'n Shake, a classic American brand, was founded in 1934 in Normal, Illinois by Gus Belt who pioneered the concept of premium burgers and milkshakes. For over 80 years, the company's name has been symbolic of its heritage. The word "steak" stood for steakburger. The term "shake" stood for hand-dipped milkshakes. Gus was determined to serve his customers the finest burgers and shakes in the business. Today, Steak 'n Shake remains the "better burger" leader, serving premium 100% beef steakburgers, hand-dipped milkshakes, thin crispy fries, and more. Steakburgers are made without preservatives or artificial ingredients, topped with fresh produce, and always hand-crafted to order. Other classics include the Frisco Melt, 7x7, Prime Steakburgers, and fan favorite M&M milkshakes.
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

The kids loved getting a shake during happy hour with their dinner. They have an ok selection of food. The prices are reasonable.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank deedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

If I could give this place a 0 I would. We went there on a Sunday afternoon to get a root beer float. We sat at the counter thinking we would get faster service. We sat, we sat, and we sat. I finally asked one of the waitresses if anyone serviced the counter and she said to give them a minute and someone would be with us. We sat, and we sat. It was like we were invisible. After 20 minutes we left and will never return.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Patti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Me and my children visited this location as a part of our staycation and was very disturbed!!! Restaurant was not clean order had to be redone twice manager staff very unpleasant!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank SophiTravelRoy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Great burger and hot dog place. Even on a Friday night we didn't have to wait for very long. Food is always as I expect. Kids love the shakes, and I feed a family of 5 for under $40. Can't go wrong!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We only went through the drive through but the cinnamon Toast Crunch and strawberry shakes was fabulous.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Eloy n Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing