We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids of all ages...”
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
Ranked #15 of 152 Restaurants in Gurnee
Price range: USD 21 - USD 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Part adventure, part restaurant and wholly entertaining. The Rainforest Cafe is an exciting thrill for all ages. Wild times await in a decorative jungle with animatronics and a menu of delicious American and tropical fare.
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Ever since we ate at the one in Disney World, my son has been wanting to go back. I didn't think that we had one this close, so when we found this one, we had to go.

Once again, we had a great experience. We all 4 had a great meal and the kids had fun doing the scavenger hunt for the different animals throughout the place. All of the staff was mostly friendly and the food came out pretty fast for this type of restaurant.

The kids menu even had coupons for Legoland Chicago that we were able to use the next day.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vacation_Commander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2016

The woodfield location was the same as it was when it opened, nothing new, fish tanks cloudy,sound from speakers garbled and food just ok at best. Waste of money in my book!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Good food and nice staff. The atmosphere was fun and unique. The food is a bit overpriced in my opinion however.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Our son and daughter love to go here for the special events. We have eaten here a couple of dozen times.

It is starting to seem a bit worn out and over priced.

Our last visit was very disappointing. Very long wait, the order was wrong and it was very difficult to get extra napkins or refills on our drinks. I had to go to the bar to get them myself.

It seems that the management just doesn't care much anymore about their more frequent customers.

We have now been going elsewhere. I wrote this to the Landry Club (so?), which we are paid members of, but we never heard back from them. So, I would be led to believe that upper management/corporate shares the same disregard for repeat business as the restaurant managers do.

On top of all of that, it costs almost twice as much as say TGI Fridays to eat there. So, really why bother.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank KMCKYCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

What a fun concept! Thunder rumbles, lightening flashes and rain falls around you as the animals (animatronically) come to life. Life like enough to bring some of the younger patrons in the place to tears. The food selection is great and tastes delicious. Why go to normal when you can go here?

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank CharlotteDayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 
Waukegan, Lake County
 
Wadsworth, Lake County
 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing