We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
9
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
2
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The four former lock keepers houses sit right above the Ohio River and have a wonderful view of the river and the sunrise. At the end of a dead end street, there is complete privacy at his location. The house have been meticulously restored to their original look and filled with period antiques. They are roomy and homey. The only complaints we had was NO INTERNET and they keep the houses at 80 degrees. YOu can adjust the AC, but in houses this old it takes many hours for them to cool down. As we were staying there in mid July we were very hot.

Room Tip: Ask the folks to adjust the heating/cooling BEFORE you arrive.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jwag07, Public Relations Manager at Golconda Lock and Dam 51 Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Thank you for the review! Internet service is something we are seriously looking into offering soon. Also thank you for the constructive criticism about the AC. I will take that to our board of directors. It is done in an effort to keep costs low when homes are not being occupied, but I will talk with the board about getting the temperature lowered before guests arrive. Again thank you for speaking up. We will try our best to address these issues. We hope you will come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Louise H. I spent 3 days here recently. This is my second time. The house is furnished in beautiful antiques. The view is beautiful overlooking the Ohio river. So calming and peaceful. I plan to go back next year. Prices are very reasonable.. Also lots of places around the area to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank crazygranny1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jwag07, Volunteer at Golconda Lock and Dam 51 Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

This is the second year a group of friends and I spent three nights at house #3. Again we loved our visit and plan to return again next year. Our house was well appointed~well taken care of~very comfortable and clean. The view from the large front porch is beautiful and peaceful~definitely a unique experience.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jwag07, Volunteer at Golconda Lock and Dam 51 Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your experience. Hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

Just spent a three day weekend at a Golconda lock and dam house. This was a wonderful experience. The view was spectacular. House was spacious furnished in period/antique furniture. Many nearby attractions. Just a wonderful relaxing experience. Definitely will return.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed our stay. Was very pretty and relaxing. The view of the river from the hottub, at sunset, was perfect. We also enjoyed several family meals we were able to prepare on the grill and enjoy gathered around the large dining room table. My 4 children are from ages 10 to 15 and they are ready to go back. The house was very clean and well maintained. I highly recommend a relaxing weekend in one of these homes.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank mindycarman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews