We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 1:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Very enjoyable

This Historical Society is very nice. We live in a 100 year old home in town. I took some... read more

Reviewed 3 February 2018
Lindastravels76
,
Chicago, Illinois
Very nice little museum

It's not the biggest Museum in the world, but it has a lot of very interesting artifacts about Glen... read more

Reviewed 13 November 2017
funniesttraveler
,
London
via mobile
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
2
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
8
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

This Historical Society is very nice. We live in a 100 year old home in town. I took some original family photos to the society to have them added to their historical files. They loved them. Very nice gift shop also.

Thank Lindastravels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

It's not the biggest Museum in the world, but it has a lot of very interesting artifacts about Glen Ellyn and its history. One thing that I was a little disappointed about, was that there was no information with regard to pre Pioneer history. Many historians claim that the Trail of Tears actually began in this very area. I would have liked to have learned more about that. Unfortunately the museum tries to focus purely on the positive while trying to distract from anything negative in the past. Very nice staff, very accommodating. A cute gift shop with a lot of very cute things.

Thank funniesttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This is a great place to get a historical perspective of Glen Ellyn. They even helped us find out the history of our home.

Thank Lindastravels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This location is well supplied with books and info on Glen Ellyn, specifically. Their programming is solid and interesting. There are some members who are very well informed and great resources.

Thank ChristineS6068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Glen Ellyn, like most suburban areas, has pretty much built over its history and in the process, like much of America, leaves one feeling that anywhere is like everywhere. The Historical Society does preserve what remains of the village's past. I have used its collection of papers and artifacts to explore long-forgotten individuals who really did contribute local and national history.

Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

This is a very small but relevant museum in Glen Ellyn. So much history and lots of fun things to look at and remember.

Thank Lincstil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

You'll love the story the history of Glen Ellyn has to tell! This picturesque village with its New England flavor with soft rolling hills that attracted its first settlers, then a resort town as Lake Ellyn emerged. It s all here! Historical photos and a working history museum! Stop in and see for yourself!

1  Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

My mom and I went on the tour at Stacy's Tavern; it was really interesting and informative. So many areas tear down old buildings and build new ones; it's nice that Glen Ellyn kept this for future generations to enjoy and learn from.

1  Thank 645tamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Great program that should be enjoyed by all.
If you don't know what the historical perspective is, how can you judge the present?
There's much to be learned at GEHS and everyone can benefit form something they offer.

A great village deserves a great site to learn from the past!

1  Thank Phil487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

This is the Glen Ellyn, IL History Center including Stacy's Tavern which was a stage coach inn built in the 1840s. It has many pictures of the town, china from one of the early settlers and a very fun gift shop.

1  Thank Lindalee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews