We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Herrington Inn is a gem of a hotel, just about 50 miles West of Chicago. The short drive there will have you in a county like setting that will make you feel more like hours away from the big city. The rooms overlook the Fox River, be sure and try to get a balcony room if possible. There is a lovely fireplace in the room and a giant whirlpool tub. Warm cookies and milk are delivered to your room nightly, a nice touch as the building used to be a creamery. We have never had any luck booking a spa appointment even a week in advance, and we have stayed here several times, so be sure and book WAY in advance. Lovely restaurant as well, close to Geneva shopping and history museum.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradisegrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    58
    19
    15
    12
See reviews for
48
227
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

If you are looking for a cozy, romantic weekend getaway, then you've found the right place! While the hotel is located right in the middle of shopping, restaurants (and even a bit of traffic/main streets), once you step inside, all of your cares and worries just float away! We loved the lobby -- very quaint and quite impressive! -- truly a wonderful boutique hotel. We stayed on the first floor near the Spa in a room with a king-sized bed, over-sized jacuzzi tub, glass shower, and gas fireplace. The patio opened up directly to the Fox River and we couldn't believe just how close the water was as we stepped outside! Though a busy street (complete with bridge over the river) was just yards away with traffic zooming by, the sound of the rushing water was more than relaxing and seemed to keep that busy 'outside world' far enough away to forget your worries. We even slept with our screen door open to enjoy the sound of the babbling water as we fell asleep. (A room facing the river is highly recommended, as the other rooms face the parking lot and would highly detract from the 'getaway/relaxing' feeling you're seeking.) The spa services were wonderful and everyone was very kind & professional. We enjoyed the couples aromatherapy massage and even had the Spa draw a relaxing aromatherapy salt bath in our room (you can choose from a variety of baskets containing various scents and salts)...and they prepare everything for you for a very minimal fee. The milk and chocolate chip cookies were a wonderful touch with the turn-down service, too! The cookies were very thick (almost like a biscuit) and ooey, gooey warm! And we can't speak highly enough of Atwater's for an amazing dinner. This is definitely an excellent winter destination due to the almost cave-like warmth the hotel provides... very low, soft lighting, comforting touches to the decor and an overall air of coziness truly abounds! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Definitly choose a room facing the river and preferably near the Spa if you're on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachyKeen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP_Herrington, Director of Sales at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you so much for helping us highlight what a wonderful winter getaway The Herrington is! Between the cozy guest room views, spa services, and fireplace in Atwater's restaurant, we are a great winter warm up. The milk and cookies seem to be everyone's favorite! We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We've been coming to the Herrington for the last several years and have always found it a delightful experience. We typically stay in a Deluxe River or Junior Suite and have found both excellent. We particularly enjoy having a balcony over the river. While I read a few comments about the TV positioning it is not a big deal to us and apparently there are rooms you can request where this is less of an issue. The marble baths, fixtures, towels and robes are all top-shelf. The continental breakfast is always fresh, plentiful and not your standard breakfast fare. The first quality meats, cheeses and pastries are of a quality you rarely find but in the nicest hotels. Our experieince with the service has always been very good and the ambiance of the lobby, fireplace and stonework is all very charming. We've enjoyed room service the restaurant very much however we often like to explore the many great restaurants in Geneva. The Chinese place in downtown St. Charles (Hunan??) delivers and is one of our favorites in all of Chicago. We have reccommended the Herrington to family, friends and colleagues and they always report a wonderful experience. One friend said the steak he had at the restaurant was the best he'd ever eaten (and he's eaten a lot of steaks). While I'm a regular visitor to Tripadvisor this the first time I've felt compelled to write a review because the The Herrington is a great home away from home for me and my wife. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We enjoy the rooms overlooking the River. Great for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_OHL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Herrington received my perfect rating for the decor of their property- the design of the rooms and ,the value .Beautiful view of the courtyard and the river .Staff members are excellent and go above and beyond to make sure you are satisified .Food is excellent with a world renowned chef .Thats why they received a four star / four diamond rating and I give it 5 .Looking forward to our next stay at this gem of a Inn

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wbgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We just got back after spending our 30th anniversary at the Harrington Inn. Since our anniversary is in the winter one of the things we looked for was a room with a fireplace. After unpacking and getting settled we went to turn the fireplace on and take a nap before dinner. The fireplace did not work. I called the front desk to let them know, they said they'd send the bellboy right up. After an hour of waiting for someone we again called the desk and was told they would send the maintainance man instead of a bellboy (made sense to me). 5 minutes later a bellboy arrives at the door and confirms that indeed the fireplace wasn't working and said the maintainance man would know what to do and he left. Once again we waited (still wanting to get a nap in) we called the desk again after no one showed up and was told the maintainance man wasn't in today and that they'd fix it first thing in the morning. A lot of good that was going to do us since we were checking out in the morning. We were offered another room which would have meant repacking and moving...we declined the offer so that we could at least relax for a few hours of our stay. Upon check-out we were asked how everything was and we expressed our disappointment with the fireplace and all she offered up was "sorry!"

We stayed in a junior suite and the television could not be seen from the bed so watching tv comfortably was not an option. Also the TV's are outdated (not flat screens). Another thing that was rather disgusting are the windows, I don't think they have ever been cleaned. I paid for my room through Groupon...if I had paid the regular rate of $324 a night I would have been even more disappointed. Over all the rooms are nice but could use a real freshing up and attention to details. I would have expected a price of maybe $125 a night max for this room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize your fireplace was not working properly and we failed to correct the problem in a timely manner. I fully understand how this issue impacted your experience and I hope you will consider returning so we can have an opportunity to make things right.

Please contact me directly if you should decide to return.

Sincerely,

Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
3.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
146 reviews
3.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
480 reviews
12.1 km away
Hotel Arista
Hotel Arista
#1 of 18 in Naperville
437 reviews
4.6 km away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Geneva

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Property: The Herrington Inn & Spa
Address: 15 S River Ln, Geneva, IL 60134-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Geneva
Price range (per night): $213 - $437
Hotel Class:4 star — The Herrington Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing