We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place has seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed here for a college visit and while the cost was great, it would have been nice to have a more up to date hotel. I was surprised as we regularly stay at Best Westerns and have always had great experiences. This one seems to have seen better days, it is outdated and needs to be cleaned up. It looked like there were some repairs or remodel going on while we were there. Our room was a non-smoking room, yet had a faint odor of smoke in the room, which may have come from the employees. We spotted ashtrays placed on tables facing the courtyards only.
Our check-in process was quick, they did have our room reserved for only 2 nights when I needed 3 and that was quickly fixed thankfully since I was checking in at 11pm on a Thursday night after a long day of airport delays.

The bathrooms were very basic and really did need to be cleaned more thoroughly, the soap and lotion dispensers were the in the wall type. You pushed on them for shampoo, conditioner, or lotion even in the shower, it was an interesting and I am sure cost-saving way of giving out toiletries. We didn't use them at all, because with skin sensitivities there is no way of knowing what type of soaps are being used without asking.

We had issues with rooms being cleaned late and then not being cleaned at all one of the days. We called around 5pm to ask to have the room cleaned and they did come rather quickly to do so. We traveled with others in our family and they stayed in a room next to ours and their reservations said continental breakfast included. When we went to have breakfast we found that the place dark and closed and told the employees were late and were not sure when they would be in. Well we never went back and went to The Grandview instead for breakfast, which was great.
Another issue we had was the fitness center, while I understand that hotels do not usually have the greatest fitness equipment this one really lacked in most every area of fitness equipment. There was one treadmill, one elliptical and some type of universal lifting equipment and it was cumbersome to use due to the lack of space.
It really is a shame, because this looks like a hotel that really has some potential, just needs some updating and cleaning up. I just don't think it quite lives up to the Best Western name at least not yet.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the first floor this hotel has no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Thank you for your review. I have forwarded your review to management. We always want our guest happy and comfortable. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. Please feel free to give us a call at 309-343-7151. We would like to see you again soon to show you that we can make your stay enjoyable.


Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2016

The staff was nice. It was a quiet location. There were dirty areas in bathroom. There area where they wanted is to park was poorly lighted. There was no free breakfast. They had a dark unwelcoming restaurant. We won't stay at Best Westerns again. We usually choose Comfort Inns but there were none in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Thank you for your review. I am forwarding these comments to management so we can correct any issues that may have occurred. We do have a full service restaurant that serves a sit down breakfast and authentic Indian food in the evening. If you have any questions please feel free to give us a call at 309-343-7151.


Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

A quiet place, generally, probably the best motel in town, but unremarkable by more global standards. I've stayed here before and been happy. This time I had difficulty getting wifi in my room, and the desk clerk treated me as if I was stupid and computer illiterate. I am neither. I wound up calling the help desk and dealing with them for half an hour, and the problem was something with the hotel. Even when I told the clerk that, he still treated me as though I was lying and too stupid to figure out how to connect with wifi. His attitude was patronizing and offensive.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eucalyptus_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you stated we are the best in town. I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced. I am forwarding this review to our management so that this will not happen again. At anytime during your stay with us you are free to ask questions! We hope you will give us another try to show you that we do want our guest happy and comfortable every time. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at 309-343-7151.

Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Shower didn't work and staff is over worked and unwilling to stand behind what they say (lie) when confronted about what they stated or said previously. I made a reservation with pets and they want to fine me because the clerk put me in the wrong room. How am I supposed to know what specific room I need to be in?

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Ben,
We apologize that you had these issues at our location. We are a pet friendly hotel with a pet friendly hallway. It is very important that you sign your registration policy with the acknowledgement that you have to register your pets at check-in time. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me anytime at
309-343-7151.


Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Came in for a birthday/college reunion party. We didn't spend much time at the hotel and never had an opportunity to use the pool, but the beds were comfortable, the room was clean and came with a mini-fridge, which was a plus. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chicagoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look forward to you staying with us again!



Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
6.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
5.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Galesburg
61 reviews
26.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
26.2 km away
Super 8 Monmouth IL
Super 8 Monmouth IL
#2 of 3 in Monmouth
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range: $122 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing