We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galesburg
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We stayed here for just one night as we were moving my daughter into the local college. We did arrive later than expected (9 pm), but we did call ahead to let them know. The desk clerk was very friendly,helpful and courteous. Our designated room was on the back side of the hotel,so you do have to drive around the building to park. The room size was large with two queen size beds. The pillows were disappointing as they were really small ,like throw pillows. I have slept on more comfortable beds,these seemed liked they have met their time frame for support,as they sagged towards the middle. We had a difficult time getting the water to come on in the tub/shower. Had us worried at first that it didn't work,but after several minutes of of tugging on the control knob we managed to get the water on. The morning was a disappointment as there was no breakfast available. The ad says continental breakfast, but we couldn't find any. We asked the morning clerk if they had breakfast,and she pointed is to the restaurant,which was empty,and no staff in sight.Needless to say,being on a schedule we didn't have time for a sit-down and order type breakfast. So we left and went to the local Hardees . The facility is large,and beautiful, but I expected more than I received from the appearance and ads.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you for your review. I have forwarded your comments to our management. We have a restaurant opened in the morning 630-1030 everyday. You can order from our full menu for a very reasonable price. We hope you will give us another visit soon!


Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

On a cross Canada/US motorcycle trip we've been on the road for 2 months and stay at Best Western quite often. Galesburg was a strategic stop for us and we really enjoyed our stay. For motorcycle enthusiasts the Harley dealership is right across the road from the hotel. Being stiff and sore from a long day's ride we treated ourselves to a king/jacuzzi suite. By far the biggest room we've had on our trip. The jacuzzi is in it's own room, we had a separate tv/living room area and a very comfortable king bed. Plenty of lighting in the room which we really appreciate being night time readers. The room is very well equipped with microwave, fridge, coffee maker, wifi and right outside our door a patio with table and chairs. The Indian restaurant onsite was unexpected and we enjoyed our meals very much.
Having signed up for the summer promotion our next stay at a Best Western will be free. Thank you from two very happy Canadian travelers.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank orcaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our Jacuzzi suite and our onsite restaurant. Also, I would l like to add a thank you for being a Best Western rewards member.
We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

My daughter and I were on our way from vacation. We were assigned one room but when we saw it from afar, there were a couple men on the patio next to our room drinking and smoking. I was more comfortable having more privacy so requested another room. Front desk clerk didn't seem happy but reassigned us to another room which was actually more convenient for parking, etc. However, when I pulled back the curtains to our sliding door to the patio space into the courtyard, there were two different guys sitting at OUR patio table, also drinking and smoking. I was frustrated that we had been relocated to a room with the same issue but wasn't comfortable asking the men to move, since I was travelling alone with my daughter and by this time we were exhausted and just needed to eat and go to bed.I have no doubt they were harmless but it bothered me that they had rooms themselves somewhere but had decided to meet on a random patio. We just shut the curtains and went to bed. Price was high so I doubt we'll return.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you for your review. I have forwarded these issues that occurred during your stay with us to management. We are always more then happy to move you or make sure you are comfortable during your stay with us. We hope that you will return to our hotel and we will show you that your stay can be satisfactory.


Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This facility has for years been my first choice when staying in Galesburg, which I must do for periods of several days at a time at different times of year. I have always been provided with the best of service and comfort in an environment which not only allows me to work from the room when needed, but also gives me everything needed to relax in comfort when not working. Nothing but praise for this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank luftmacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again!



Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Our stay was very nice, calm and clean. Loved the big room with refrigerator and microwave. These things come in handy when you have things that need to be cooled. Did not like paying for breakfast after reservation said it was included. I am glad we did not have several kids with us. While eating one man came in and then refused to stay because he had to pay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoy our spacious rooms. We have breakfast in our restaurant every morning for our guest. This is off a reasonable priced menu many of our past guest have enjoyed. We look forward to your next stay with us.




Amber Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galesburg
6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galesburg
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galesburg
5.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Galesburg
61 reviews
26.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Monmouth
0.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Address: 300 S Soangetaha Rd, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401-5527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range: $117 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS and BNSF employees. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO(R). Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, fun games in our courtyard for the family, and free Wi-Fi access. Haldi's is our onsite restaurant & lounge, this offers authentic Indian dining. We serve an all American breakfast every morning. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Agoda, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing