We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
393
222
75
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
393
222
75
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crystal cave fantasy suite cave room small balcony hearts delight indoor outdoor pool wooded area room was clean themed rooms no elevator downtown galena regular room nice breakfast hot tub grant's home would stay here again great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

My aunt and I stayed here at the end of August. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness and comfort of our room. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony that looked out into the trees and spent quite a bit of time chatting and enjoying a cup of coffee from the lobby. The breakfast was more than adequate. If you leave hungry, it’s not for a lack of options. The location of the hotel is very convenient to historic sights and downtown Galena. I would definitely recommend staying here and will certainly do so again, if I find myself traveling to Galena in the future.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank liproc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

This was the second time we've stayed at Best Western Designer Inn & Suites and it was as great as the first time! The rooms are extremely spacious and the rates couldn't be more reasonable. The staff is very experienced and very cordial and hospital, always asking if there's anymore they can do to make your trip more pleasurable. They also have both an indoor and outdoor pool so no concerns about the weather. My wife and I really enjoy the spa jacuzzi to relax in after a day of tours and other activities before we head out for some night time entertainment. We can't recommend this place enough! We enjoy coming to Galena and have stayed at other hotels and B&B's but this is the best. Oh, almost forgot.... There is also a free and delicious breakfast at this hotel before you start your day.

Room Tip: We choose a room in the back with the best view of a wooded area from the balcony of our room.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rgraves802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

we stayed at the Best Western Designer Inn And Suites and it was a great experience, very clean, great breakfast and they happened to be having some kind of a corvette show where they all stayed at this hotel my husband was in heaven considering we own a 1968 corvette but did not have it with us. This was first time for us in Galena and we really enjoyed the area, we will be back and will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mbowring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have been to both their locations in the past but chose this for the Pearl under the sea room this time. We did stay 2 nights, one in a regular whirlpool room (not themed) It was a neat themed room, one of our favorites at this location other than the bed. (very hard edge around the clamshell made it hard to get in and out of without hitting something. The multi head shower was very comfortable as usual. The whirlpool tub had enough room to comfortably fit 2 adults and was very relaxing.
The 2nd night in the regular room was not as good as expected. The room was not cleaned well (food left in fridge, sock and tissue on floor) We didn't use the whirlpool as planned due to being unsure if it was cleaned. The 2nd room had thin walls, we heard Every detail of what was going on in the next room. Had to turn air fan up to block noises

Room Tip: Choose a "fantasy suite" themed room
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We visit Galena every year and always stay here. Everything is just right so the stay is always a great experience. This hotel features a free (and very good!) breakfast, which makes it a great value. It is tastefully decorated, very clean and well-maintained. The beds are very comfortable and we always sleep well here. We enjoy taking our morning coffee and relaxing out on the balcony (every room has one). Also I need to mention that the showers are awesome! There is a great indoor-outdoor pool and a nice relaxing hot tub. Staff is always friendly and eager to help as well. We were once again very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank luvntiedye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews