We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax and Renew Romance”
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Odell, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place to Relax and Renew Romance”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Turret Room. This room gave us a 270 degree view of the surrounding area and I feel was probably the best room they have. It had two floors with a very nice bedroom set up. The 2 person hot tub holds 2 people easily and with an easy view of the TV at the same time. The bed was big and very comfortable. The dining area and small kitchen were located on the 1st floor and was perfect for the morning breakfeast that was included and hand delivered to the our table in the room. There was gas opperated fire places on both floors and all the lights dim which creates a very romantic mood. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I can honeslty say they were one of the most friendly staff we have encountered and that includes owners, front decks, restraurant people, massage people and the lady who delivered the breakfeast. My wife loved the robes that were provided in the rooms. This place is located off the beaten path, but we like it that way as it created space between the busy town of Gelena. We did dine at the hotel the 1st night and had a wonderful meal. We also took part in the hot stone massage which was very relaxing. There is a lot to do in the area and we ran out of time and had to skip some stuff. The price for the place and the dining is on the higher end, but it was well worth it. I only wished it was not so cold and windy so that we could have walked around the property. This place is what I picture a BandB to be. We will be coming back to the Goldmoor.

Room Tip: Make sure to go on Goldmoor's website to look at the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    48
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
31
418
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampico, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I were so happy to return to the Goldmoor in Galena this last weekend. We stayed in the English Cottage and loved the privacy and luxury of the cottage. We are always so impressed with the food and the overall attention to detail. Tom and Patricia are not only excellent innkeepers but wonderful people as well. We always enjoy their company and love feeling like we are also apart of the Goldmoor family. We would whole heartily recommend the Goldmoor Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: we enjoy the privacy of the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The quality of rooms and service at the Goldmoor Inn are exquisite. We stayed for a couple nights in the Chef's Suite, and everything was fantastic. Tom, Patricia, and the rest of the staff are kind and approachable; everyone did a wonderful job making us feel at home. Right after we checked in, we wandered around the grounds to explore, and Tom gave us a tour of the suites that had not yet been checked in. All the rooms are spacious and gorgeous. The decor is elegant and not over-the-top. Tom grew up in the are and provided some good information of the caves and notable features in the area, as well as some Galena restaurant recommendations. Chestnut Mountain is just a mile down the road, and downtown Galena is about 5 miles away. For anything that we wanted that was not immediately in the room, the staff was very accommodating. (e.g. there was coffee and hot chocolate, but no tea in the room, but a quick request to the front desk remedied that. +10 for Mighty Leaf brand teas.)

Perfect for a romantic getaway or a family reunion. A wonderful balance of getting away and delightful divertissement.

Room Tip: Chef's Suite has an entrance from the kitchen, has a whirlpool bath that overlooks the Mississip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rptsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife & I stayed in the Gwenivere Suiteon a Fri-Sat night. All the staff was great, very pleasant. The suite was awesome, very clean with all the amenities we would need. Our meals were very tasty, the desserts fantastic. On the night we arrived, we both had the hot stone massage. This is a must for kicking off a stay here. The only thing is that while the water pressure was adequate, it could have been higher.

Room Tip: Save a few bucks with the Gwenivere Suite in the Winter time, when the view doesn't really matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I suprised my husband with a relaxing weekend getaway. We stayed in the Elizabeth suite, for a little extra I had requested a bottle of wine and strawberries. We had also had a massage. The Elizabeth suite was prefect, the massage was great and supper at the Inn was spectacular. Then in the morning we had breakfast served to us in our room, what a great way to end our stay. We WILL be back! The Innkeepers and staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
849 reviews
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
8.3 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Property: Goldmoor Inn
Address: 9001 N Sand Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price range (per night): $399 - $528
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing