We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I won a free two night stay and dinner at the Goldmore at a Wedding Show. The place looked beautiful and we were very excited to get away. We booked our reservations and ended up in the tower suite. The room was beauitful. It was a little odd though on the first floor was a bathroom, dinning room, small kitchen. Upstairs was the bed, a fire place, and a hot tub. Everytime you wanted to use the restroom you had to go all the way downstairs. It was slightly annoying. They delievered breakfast to our room each morning. We just had to call and let them know what time we wanted it. The food was ok. Nothing fabulous. They had french toast one mornign that was good. Most of the time the food was on the cold side and we ended up getting breakfast someplace else. The resort is very far off the beaten path so it can be a hall if you want to go into Galena. Our complaint was that they did not offer any types of small snacks or a place to purchase a milk or something if you were thirsty or hungry in the middle of the night.

We ate at their resturant. The food was actully very good, but not something I would want to spend the money for ourselves. It was very pricy when you looked at the menu. Overall our stay was nice. I think they have a ways to go in order to be the facility they are trying to be. I was imagining an amazing romatice get away in galena and in the end i felt like it was just a nice stay in a nice hotel room. THey need to add a little more personal touches.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 413 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

The staff was great and this place is absolutely gorgeous! My husband and I can not wait to return next year. I fell in love with the Midwest because of the Goldmoor. Thank you for making our trip so enjoyable. I loved the big oversized bed and sauna bath tub. I felt like a Queen. I can not wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattyd1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I've stayed at the Goldmoor Inn several times over the last 10 years. They never get old, or repetitive. I always feel like I've suddenly gone back in time to when I was younger, and didn't have a care in the world. Why do I feel this way? Because they have already thought of everything, before I've reached them. The accomodations are the best, and the ambiance and view takes be back to a much more simple time. No buildings blocking the view, no traffic clogging up my path. Heavenly relaxation, and rejuveination! If you missed this, you might as well have stayed home!

Room Tip: To stay out of the way, choose a cabin. For a good view, Mississippi Suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I enjoyed our stay at the Goldmoor last week. I appriciated the decor, as the Arthur Suite was decorated toward more of a man taste. We enjoyed the quite time and breakfest was to die for. I recommend this place and we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at the Goldmoor Inn for a family wedding. The rooms were spacious. My family of four fit in the room and we were more than comfortable. I enjoyed my stay at the Goldmoor so much that we purchased a gift card to give to our good friends. We also recommended the Goldmoor to a couple for their honeymoon. Both of the couples had a wonderful stay at the Goldmoor. They loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
8.3 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
875 reviews
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
1.7 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Address: 9001 N Sand Hill Rd, Galena, IL 61036-9341
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $389 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing