We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 123
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
USD 110
USD 95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annie Wiggins Guest House(Galena)(Great Value!)
USD 198
USD 189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
USD 261
USD 250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 110
USD 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
USD 243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Aire Mansion Guest House(Galena)(Great Value!)
USD 118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
43
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was deliciousfront porchwonderful experiencecraigweekendwinehistory
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2015

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Galena for 3 wonderful days and spent our nights here and enjoyed the awesome breakfasts, wonderful evening snacks, inn keepers that went out of their way to make our stay so enjoyable. The house is beautiful and comfy. We loved our room and also relaxing on the porch!!!

Barb and Mike

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

My partner had never stayed in a B&B, so I arranged the 3 for 3 package through the innkeeper at The Steamboat House, a B&B directly across the street from the Avery. She set up our three night mid-week Galena stay for one night each at three different B&Bs.

The Avery was our home-away-from-home for our first night, which was to our good fortune. In addition to Craig and Leslie being such gracious hosts, they are a wealth of knowledge about local attractions, places to eat, directions, etc. This helped us determine which sights and restaurants to seek out.

This quaint little B&B is the smallest of the three inns we experienced during our stay, but does not lack for charm. Everything was meticulously spotless, yet cozy and inviting, not in the least sterile. Leslie and Craig have beautifully decorated the Avery in a Victorian style. This place is within walking distance of the historic downtown. Ours was a mid-week stay, so parking was not an issue for us, but if you visit Galena on a weekend during the high season, that proximity to downtown is a huge plus.

Our breakfast was delicious and certainly sufficient to get us through to lunch. The light crepes, fresh fruit, meat, and eggs tasted delicious! We enjoyed the conversation and banter with the innkeeper and the other guests.

Innkeepers in Galena "get it." We were so impressed with the way that the proprietors of the three separate inns worked together, supporting each other, rather than being competitive and cut-throat with each other. That attitude and style certainly results in a very pleasant tourist experience.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We have been coming to Avery Guest House Bed and Breakfast once a year for the past 10 years. I just cannot say enough wonderful things about this B&B. It really is like stepping into the past and being welcomed home each and every time we come back. Craig and Leslie are some of the kindest people you could ever hope to meet. The grounds are impeccable. The house and rooms are beautiful old Victorian style and very clean. We have stayed in every one of the four rooms offered. Our favorite of course is the largest room the Lydia Rebecca. All rooms have private bathroom. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. Upstairs parlor has a selection of DVDs and books with coffee set up every morning. Breakfast is a feast of wonderful fresh home cooking. Both of them are excellent good cooks and bakers! The conversation at breakfast is light and cheerful with shared stories about the Avery House and the town of Galena. You are never rushed. They are very informative about local events and things to do in the local area. Evening dessert is homemade and fabulous. We always skip dessert at the restaurant because we know it will be waiting for us when we return home that evening no matter what time we return. We usually sit out on the large back porch every evening and have our dessert with wine, or coffee. Craig and Leslie take great pride in this establishment and truly are the most gracious hosts. We consider them friends. If you are ever going to be staying in Galena, this is the place! A truly amazing experience each and every time!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

This was a great place to stay for the weekend! The host's were so friendly and helpful, they made you feel right at home. Leslie's breakfast were delicious and her evening desserts were so good. She sets desserts out for her guests at 7:00 every night and they are there waiting for you when ever you get in along with coffee. The rooms were very clean. The price was great.We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

Beautifully decorated and very clean. Hosts were very accommodating on every level. The desserts every night were delicious. Breakfast was plentiful and always delicious as well. As huge water drinkers, we asked the first day for ice water and it was set out every day for us, no additional requests needed. That's paying attention to the needs of your guests! The room was pretty and the bed comfortable. The hosts Craig and Leslie were were knowledgable about the town and surrounding area. You can tell when people love what they do and these folks do! The location was perfect. Just a block from historic Main Street and all it has to offer. Truly ideal location.

Stayed: May 2015
1  Thank Tracyinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews