We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Venue... Powerful Storytelling”

P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Enjoy the mysteries of an ancient art as presented by Galena's master magician, P.T. Murphy. The setting is Murphy's private 24-seat theatre located in the heart of historic downtown Galena, IL. P.T. Murphy believes in magic. It's his job. He will entertain, mystify and inspire you to believe! P.T. is known for his personable style, mischievous sense of humor and sophisticated sleight of hand that the Chicago Reader called "An evening that shows magic to its best advantage, up close and personal." As the theatre only seats 24, advanced purchase is suggested. Approved for ages 13 and up. Run Time: 65 minutes. No intermission. Theatre rentals are available for your tour group, or private party.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The show was incredibly personable, warm, and filled with amazing storytelling that allowed us to explore our imaginations and believe in magic again. PT Murphy is truly a master magician and delivers a captivating experience for all.

Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

WOW! Thanks Ben. It was great meeting you guys. I hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"magic show"
in 127 reviews
"front row"
in 22 reviews
"slight of hand"
in 17 reviews
"intimate setting"
in 17 reviews
"audience participation"
in 19 reviews
"small audience"
in 10 reviews
"everyone's names"
in 6 reviews
"great magician"
in 5 reviews
"fun evening"
in 14 reviews
"small room"
in 8 reviews
"mind boggling"
in 6 reviews
"my husband and i"
in 37 reviews
"all ages"
in 20 reviews
"saturday night"
in 7 reviews
"visited galena"
in 8 reviews
"in town"
in 14 reviews
"pt"
in 53 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

A must see in Galena! So personable, funny, and great tricks too. Thank you for a great time Mr.Murphy

Thank Yasmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you! It was great meeting you two. Maybe we will run into each other at Aurelios? After wall climbing? LOL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

I had my doubts. A very small venue off a side street that looked incredibly cheesy. It is off season and just a few of us. I was ready for disappointment. I was so wrong. If you have the opportunity, GO. It was highly entertaining. PT Murphy was funny, great interaction with the audience and is actually a very good magician. This was a fun time.

Thank rgbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We take umbrage with your "cheesy" comment. LOL! But we wholly agree with your excellent taste in magic shows! Thanks for sharing. We hope to see you again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to give the show a try. Amazing! Small setting, you can see it all if you get there early and get front row, about 2 feet away from the action.
This is real magic. Exceeded all thoughts of what I imagined.

Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing. We do appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We didn't know what to expect, but had a blast! Small theater, so very interactive. We had such a great time, and would highly recommend this show to anyone.

Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PTMurphyMagic, Owner at P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre also viewed

 

Been to P.T. Murphy Magic Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing