We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring in Galena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #3 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We just had a wonderful evening at the Farmers' Guest House. Very relaxing and wonderful cottage. What are the odds of chatting with other folks and finding out that three of us are Violinists!? Jess and Kathie are charming hosts and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling-du0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

972 - 976 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Farmers' Guest House for a birthday weekend. The B&B was awesome!! We enjoyed the room and had great visits with Kathie and Jess. The extra things like cookies in the cookie jars and the up to date videos really made out visit to Galena extra relaxing! We would highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast, and we will be returning customers. The hosts were amazing and provided us with a fantastic weekend. We stayed in the cottage behind the main building. Not only did we have our privacy, but we could go to the main house at any time and feel like we were at home. The evening wine and cheese with the other guests was a great way to start the evening off right. The food was delicious, and the hospitality perfect. I cannot say enough nice things about Kathie and Jess. You truly leave feeling like family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

On home leave and got away for the first time without the kids....we had an incredible stay . great location with phenomenal hosts. The atmosphere seemed infectious with all the guests being like old friends in a favorite getaway. Met many people who were return guests. (which we will be again soon) Kathie and Jes were like family by the time we left. Because of our stay we're looking at making Galena our new home.
Highly recommend to anyone who is coming to Galena. Don't even bother looking at other sites!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Camelot suite which was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byronlsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We just returned from our most recent stay at the Farmer's Guest House and, as always, it was absolutely wonderful. My husband and I have been coming here on an yearly basis for the past five years or so. We have always stayed in the cottage behind the B&B and have loved all of our stays. Jess and Kathie make us feel so welcome. There are all of these special touches to the B&B that make this place our favorite- the ever-present cookies, the yummy breakfasts, wine and cheese at night, etc. Jess and Kathie are always available to give suggestions on restaurants and other go-to places in Galena. My husband and I used to try different B&B for each of our anniversaries but now we just go back to Farmer's Guest House every year. Why mess with perfection?

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingTarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review the Farmers Guest House. We take great delight in assuring you the best possible stay while enjoying all that Galena has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.4 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
880 reviews
3.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
1.2 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
1 km away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 32 in Galena
202 reviews
7.8 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: $231 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 and with a Food Network winning chef, Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 150 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning champagne breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home, your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing