We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything good - except the music”

The Square and Compass
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Good food and drink in a lovely location. Located just outside Harrogate and within. A short 10 minute drive from RHS Garden Harlow Carr. Relaxing bar, large restaurant with private dining for up to 40 people. Freshly prepared dishes using local suppliers whenever possible. Also on offer are some of Yorkshire's favourite cask ales and an excellent selection of wines. Private dining, special occasions and meetings catered for.
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Such a great place for a birthday dinner on a gloomy wet Tuesday in November. The restaurant was warm and welcoming, and not at all busy, so we enjoyed prompt attentive service from the super cheerful young staff. All our food looked and tasted delicious (especially the chicken pie).
All so good, but why did we have to endure such loud shouty dance music? The playlist might be great at a wedding disco, but not at all appropriate when you are relaxing, enjoying good food and conversation. We, and another large party asked for the volume to be turned down but on it went relentlessly.
We would love to come back and give you five stars when you’ve changed the sound track.

Thank LadyBlancheM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at The Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Many thanks for your review and we will certainly talk to our team about the music. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your dishes - and what would have made your meal a 5* experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 983 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

We have visited the square and compass on three separate occasion. The first time both meals ordered by my wife were excellent. However on the second occasion the food was okay but below the standard we had expected. Our third visit was last Friday when I ordered the game pie based on the recommendation given by the bar staff. In hindsight the food was only lukewarm and I should complained but as the pie was quite tasty I let it go. Unfortunately the pie was not quite as tasty afew hours later when it came back up.

Thank BooMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at The Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

We are sorry you were unwell recently. But please contact us directly so we can urgently and thoroughly investigate your allegation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

My wife and I popped in here for a bit of lunch on our way to the nearby Rudding Park. The first thing that strikes you on walking in is that it's a beautiful rural pub - a few cute dogs in there too which is always a bonus!

We were immediately seated in the bar with menus and our drink orders were taken swiftly (note we asked for a jug of tap water here). Unfortunately it then took 15 minutes for our drinks to arrive - without the water. After waiting longer for our food order to be taken, I headed to the bar to order, thinking that perhaps that is what I should have done all along, only to be told that they'd take my order at our table.

Fortunately once the food did arrive it was very tasty. We had the Sun Dried Tomato & Feta Polenta Cake and the Ryedale burger. We took the opportunity to order another round - asking again for the water, which did arrive more promptly this time.

On receiving the bill though we were disappointed to see we'd been charged £3.50 for the water. It was served in a decanter, no bottle or anything there, so it could quite easily have been the tap water we'd originally requested. It's been a while since I've been stung on the bill when asking for still water, and it leaves a sour feeling at the end of the meal.

As an aside it's a bit of an odd surprise seeing nude photos of women in the gents toilets, what with it being 2017.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DANIEL2782145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at The Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for letting us know what was good about your visit - and what needed to be better. We will double-check why you were charged for water when you ordered tap water. Thank you for alerting us to this and the slow service you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We have visited this venue many times in the past. This time we were very badly let down. Once we were seated it did not take long to realise the restaurant was poorly staffed. It took us 20 minutes to order drinks and when arrived the we did not get what we wanted. The meal service progressed to even longer delays 20 minutes for starters and 30 minutes for the main course. The food which is usually very nice was overcooked and shabbily presented. Disappointment all around. We will not be rushing back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mustafa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at The Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

I am very sorry you did not experience our normal high levels of service and food quality during your most recent visit. We will look at what went wrong during your meal and will continue to work hard to make sure every one of our guests enjoys their time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Knew nothing about this pub but just need to eat in the area so booked a table at very short notice. What a lovely surprise. There is a formal dining area or more casual seating in the bar. Was met with a lovely reception, had a chilled glass of wine at our table in the bar and then went through to the dining area. We shared a starter of salt and pepper squid which was delicious. The special of the day was Hake and it was perfect. We were too full for puddings but sat back in the bar to enjoy our wine. Service was friendly but not too overbearing. We look forward to returning soon. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha R, Owner at The Square and Compass, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Our team will be so pleased to know you enjoyed your first visit. We shall pass on your thanks and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square and Compass also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Follifoot, Harrogate
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Square and Compass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing