We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Want It, They've Got It”
Review of Foodstuffs

Foodstuffs
Ranked #94 of 320 Restaurants in Evanston
Price range: USD 1 - USD 20
Cuisines: American, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch
Reviewed 19 September 2018

It hard to imagine a (casual) lunch meal you can't order at Foodstuffs: dozens of ingredients at their design your own salad counter; the fixings for dozens of sandwiches; a separate deli counter with everything from matzo balls to lasagne to poached salmon. A great spot for grabbing a quick bite (eat in or carryout), or taking your time with friends at their street-side tables or on one of several park benches across the street.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2018

My husband and I were visiting from out-of-town, hungry in the middle of the afternoon, and not sure what to eat since it wasn't either lunch or dinner we were looking for. But just a stroll through this delightful place gave us all kinds of ideas - from individually-packed salads to easy-to-eat hand-held treats. We circled the shop 3-4 times enticed by the numerous options, and the clever packaging. They make eating fun.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shawnschey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Salads, sandwiches, soup, bakery, entrees, deli,candy, beverages -- Foodstuffs has it all.
Eat in and take away.

There is counter seating at the window; sidewalk tables in front; seven tables at the back against a wall of cookbooks and vintage scales.

Pricey? Today I purchased a pretty average taffy Granny Smith apple for $5...just a smidgen better than an AffyTapple.

meter lot and street parking.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank illinoistravelere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

SO many wonderful things here from the savory to sweet!

Just tried their Pie - a fresh Blueberry Pie that was perfect. Fresh, yummy & after heating it in the oven was perfect.

Come in here to indulge, treat yourself or to bring an extra special something to a Potluck*

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justsaygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Wide range of great homemade gourmet cuisine to take out. Best soups, desserts and salads ever! Salad bar is by the pound - you select your ingredients and they chop it up. We eat here every week and LOVE IT! We order all our holiday dinner sides and desserts here too.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank jcandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Foodstuffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing