We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Than I Expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Chicago IL
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“More Than I Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed here in October 2011 and still feel compelled to write a review. I moved to Chicago for a job and stayed at this hotel until I found an apartment. The room itself was cleaner and more comfortable than I expected, but the service really put it over the top. The employees were incredibly helpful with everything... restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. I was told that the cars in the parking lot were watched all night on camera. I felt very safe and cared for. Makes me think I expect too little of other Super 8's I've been to!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    116
    103
    47
    34
See reviews for
164
88
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Right down the street from Loyola, this is a great place if you are visiting the campus. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds on the second floor facing N. Sheridan and had no problem with sound or light getting thru the curtain. Small fridge and microwave are nice, and the breakfast is good enough with juice, coffee, oatmeal and pastries. Nothing fancy but it kept the kids happy. The room was clean and the temperature was good. Only small complaint that the hot water was not really hot, no matter what time of day, and the mirror in the bathroom was a little too high for the shorter members of the family.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmervis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I visited Chicago during May 2011 and our stay in the Super 8 was great. The staff was very helpful and the parking was free, which is saying something considering Chicago. I recommend this Super 8 for a stay on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artistic_elwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is not a luxury property, but we were impressed that it was clean and looked to have an franchisee that cared about providing a decent, basic stay. Parking is tight - but is also free and even though we have a minivan we were able to get a space each night.
Our room was spacious and clean: great king size bed (pillows aren't great!), good iron and ironing board and decent TV and free WiFi. We were in 304 - only a view of back roof and apartments; opposite rooms probably look toward the lake - which is only a block away.
Being located on Sheridan, there are lots of restaurants, Starbucks, etc., heading south toward town, and the access to both Evanston (north) and Lake Shore Drive (to go to the city) is great! If you need a place near the universities or Rogers Park, and don't require high-rise luxury, try it out.

Room Tip: Try to face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel was a fair hotel until I had an issue with not getting my Wyndham rewards points. I made the reservation under my name, but my boyfriend paid. Management changed the reservation, and put it under his name without my authorization. Therefore, I didn't receive my points. When I called to take care of it, the employee who I talked to, refused to tell me when the manager was in, refused to take a message and hung up on me more than once. This was going to be our little get away, but the service ruined it for us. You lost a soon-to-be loyal customer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randalynnlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Evanston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
3.7 km away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
4.0 km away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
8.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Chicago IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chicago IL

Property: Super 8 Chicago IL
Address: 7300 N Sheridan Rd, Evanston, IL 60626-2216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price range (per night): $120 - $293
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chicago IL 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Chicago IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Chicago / Loyola University Hotel Evanston
Super Eight Chicago
Chicago Super 8
Chicago Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing