We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alassari Plantation
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Alassari provides a "different'Bali - peace and quiet, with every attention to detail.
Craig & Val are the perfect hosts and share their beautiful environment in the most caring way. Their staff could not be more pleasant or helpful and are clearly proud to be a part of the Alassari experience.
It was a real "soul soother" for me at a time when I needed just that!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigGlenister, Owner at Alassari Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you Melva. Val and I really enjoyed our talks.
It is lovely to see everyone who reviews pay full credit to the staff..they really are what makes our vision happen. We would be lost without them. Here at Alassari Plantation we believe in a happy working environment, and have rules supporting this. The fact that Balinese are a naturally, and culturally happy race makes it quite simple.
Why would you anyone want to work in an unhappy environment?
Hope to see you again soon.
Love and laughter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017

Its a magical place in the mountains and sometimes when you are walking through the jungle on the plantation it practically feels mystical. Such beauty and serenity. The chalets are just so private and simply but beautifully furnished. The staff are extremely helpful.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TerryLynnSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigGlenister, Owner at Alassari Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you TerryLynSail. Often i have no idea who is writing but, in your case, the sail gave it away.
Thank you for the review. it is much appreciated.
There's that staff mention again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

If you are wanting five star accommodation in amazing villas where your every comfort has been considered, where lush planting gives you complete privacy, where delightful paths meander down the mountain to a clear stream with small waterfalls, if the only sounds you want to hear are the birds, then this is the place for you. It could not be more perfect.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beachbabe825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigGlenister, Owner at Alassari Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you beachbabe. We are delighted you loved the place. Perhaps you would like to join our newsletter so we can keep you current with any future offers. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

An amazing place.

The food and hospitality were truly top notch. Drinking the locally grown & roasted coffee was a highlight and unique to the region.

The location puts you in a perfect position to trek through the jungle - Which brought to mind images of jungle from the movies. An amazing experience.

The entire experience was unforgettable.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ColumOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigGlenister, Owner at Alassari Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you ColumOD. We have put a lot of effort into our coffee plantation, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed it. We roast our coffee beans in a wood fired oven as that makes for a better taste.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I've never really stayed anywhere quite like this before. Alassari is an absolute gem set in a very unique and less travelled part of Bali (near Mount Batukaru). To say it is peaceful is an understatement- you will not get tourists or crowds or the usual pretence of a large resort. This is a unique, authentic, yet completed luxurious experience amid the mountains, rivers, and a very special part of Bali. Craig and Val are the most gorgeous hosts and all of the staff are so lovely, going out of their way to help however they can. This is a lovely place to unwind and take in the "real" Bali while still living it up with all your creature comforts including that beautiful pool. Alassari is truly a labour of love for them and every single detail that went into building, designing, decorating is 150% authentically from a place of love, care for detail and intention, and with the utmost joy in seeing their guests have the best experience possible. I feel lucky to have found this place and could not recommend it highly enough to others. If it were up to me, I'd go with a big group and hire out the whole place!!! What a special spot in Bali, only tell your most favourite people about it so we can keep it a secret gem. ;-)

Room Tip: It's impossible to go wrong here with any room choice
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Beachbum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigGlenister, Owner at Alassari Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you beachBum. It gives us great pleasure to read reviews such as yours. In fact i will read it out to all our staff tomorrow. They have worked very hard to acquire a high standard of work, and as we only hire staff from our village, it reflects very well on them all. Thank you once again for a delightful review.
Looking forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selemadeg
24.4 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,263 reviews
21.8 km away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#30 of 199 in Ubud
656 reviews
24.9 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,039 reviews
17.8 km away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
16.7 km away
Munduk Moding Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alassari Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alassari Plantation

Address: Jl. Arjuna, Br. Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Selemadeg 82162, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Selemadeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Selemadeg
Price Range: $210 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alassari Plantation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star luxurious Alassari Plantation sits high in the rainforests of the sacred Mount Batu Karu in central Bali. Reside in the decadent luxury of your own exclusive luxury private villa, carved from teak wood and imported from Java. Choose from our superb a-la-carte menu available in the Terrace Restaurant, showcasing a fusion of western and Indonesian meals incorporating organic produce grown on our plantation. Cocktails are available at the bar and we have an extensive wine list. Walk the 50m tree-top suspension bridge that leads to several waterfalls on the property. Alassari Plantation provides free WiFi in all areas of the plantation including our resort pool. The spacious villas each have a large sitting area, a full length veranda and are equipped with a flat-screen TV, iPod dock and an espresso machine. Our Bamboo Spa provides a wide variety of body treatments. A gym and library is free. Alassari Plantation is a visually-packed 90 minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport and 39 km from Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Alassari Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing