We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Paraiso en soledad...

If you want a beach day in solitude and away from all the people this is the place! It is only... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
Laura B
via mobile
Stayed here

Fabulous bay although can get breezy at times. Relatively quiet and good for swimming. Stayed here... read more

Reviewed 5 February 2017
Keith1812
,
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Read all 36 reviews
  
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
20
8
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
8
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sugar reef solitude beach island sand
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Rounded of a lovely little tour. True Caribbean feel with wonderful scenery. You can feel the stress just disappear as soon as you set off to walk along the seaside. Wonderful!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank KJR10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

The worst snorkeling we have ever had on any island. One place was like swimming in a vegetable stew.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank kennethh577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

Take a 30 minute walk or a ten minute taxi over the hill from Port Elizabeth and you're in a different world. Crescent Beach or Industry Bay got it's name from the from the small curve of sand and the nearby coconut groves that provided copra for oil. The bay is protected by a coral reef that knocks down the surf and provides a place for swimming, kite-surfing and snorkeling. The tropical sun can be intense and the palm trees provide a shaded refuge. When you get hungry or thirsty, wander over to the little Sugar Reef restaurant for a tall cold one and a bite to eat.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank frqentravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

We rented a house (Reef House) near this beach in July. The beach is tucked in a beautiful, sheltered bay with tall, overhanging palms. This is an ideal beach for finding solitude and privacy. By American standards of mile-long beaches, this beach is small and cozy. Unfortunately, during our stay (and obviously for some time) the incoming seaweed had inundated the bay and beach. This is a problem on all of Bequia's windward beaches. Apparently, Sugar Reef closed their beachside hotel and restaurant for the summer due to this problem. We did snorkel off the beach one day. It required wading through a few yards of submerged seaweed, but made for a lovely swim. The unfortunate part was difficulty finding a clear place on the beach to walk or place towels or other stuff. The odor of the rotting seaweed was unfortunately strong. To their credit, Sugar Reef had two employees raking and hauling off the seaweed in wheelbarrows. I felt for them as I watched great rafts of new weed wash in every morning. I would love to visit here again when the seaweed is gone.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank gwmullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

My wife and I had a great lunch today at the Sugar Reef Restaurant at the hotel. Jefferson was our server and he did a superb job. The views from the restaurant are breathtaking. I had the blackened fish and my wife had the pumpkin soup and the fish roti. For dessert we had nutmeg and coconut ice cream. Everything was just perfect. We have eaten at and reviewed many restaurants in Bequia and the Sugar Reef Restaurant is surely one of the best. Since we will be here for awhile longer we will certainly go back. This restaurant is highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Michael195733928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews