We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again....Look elsewhere..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Decatur
Indianapolis
1 review
“Never again....Look elsewhere..”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

First off the front desk help was completely rude to my daughter and her softball team. She didn't like the fact that a bunch of softball players where staying there, and she made it well known too. The laundry facility was a complete joke..No change machine, and the front desk doesn't keep change on hand for it, the dryer was out of service, and it was the only one. The room was dirty, trash from the previous guest hadn't been emptied and the sheets were dirty. The breakfast area was small and cramped, not many choices..Won't be staying at this hotel again..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    83
    41
    24
    6
See reviews for
84
37
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Last year I visted Decatur and stayed at the Hawthorn Suites. I had booked my room non-smoking room months in advance and when I arrived they informed me that they were out of rooms and did not have a record of my reservation. Luckily I had a copy of my reservation including my confirmation number. They informed me that they had overbooked and that they would be able to give me a smoking room. I tried to be understanding and went to the room. When walking down the smoking room hallway I could barely breathe because of all of the smoke needless to say the room was not any better. I decided that I would not be able to stay in that room. I went back to the front desk and had to ask to speak with the manager who of course was not there at the time. After a long discussion with the front desk clerk he was able to find a non-smoking room. Imagine that! I would never suggest that anyone stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainmav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I stayed at Hawthorne during a job interview. I had expected it to be nicer. However, I found that the room was not completely clean. Behind the bed between the headboard and bed, there was alot of hair and dirt. We had checked the beds and sheets for signs of bedbugs, unfortunately, I was not convinced that there were none. Superficially, the room seemed clean, but when we looked closer, it was definitely not clean enough for my comfort level.
For those staying here in the future, I would recommend to do a thorough check of the room before bringing luggage in and sleeping there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el_alhambra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysboro, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I stayed here while covering the Class A girls golf state tournament for a regional newspaper. This was my first trip to Mt. Zion and I'm going to break down my review into a couple segments.

The Hotel: This hotel is probably in the range of 20-25 years old, maybe a little less. The decor was sufficient, not elegant. Located right off the main street through town, it is easy to spot and get to/from. It caters mostly to business travelers, I assume, even though I only saw 6 guests total during the three days I was there.

Cleanliness: The Hawthorn is CLEAN with a capital C. You can smell the cleaning products when you get off the elevator. People with sensitive allergies or a strong aversion to such agents may have a problem with this. The room was made up in a timely manner each day, although the cleaning staff had a tendency to put the trash cans under the sink - forcing me to look for them each day.

Internet: This was my one and only complaint about this place. There were times where it was fantastic and times where everything slowed to a crawl. The internet seemed to get better at night, however, and is wireless.

The Room: The room was decent for a solo traveler, about the size of a college dorm room. The room came equipped with a breakfast nook that included a microwave, sink and fridge. They attempted to split the room in half by having a small couch, coffee table and recliner on one side and the bed on the other, but it just makes things look cluttered and a bit of a hassle to maneuver around.

Restaurants: The Hawthorn is located 2 miles from anything you'd want to eat. Pizza Hut, Taco Bell, McDonald's, Steak & Shake, Subway, Marconi's Pizza, there's plenty of places to choose from. If you need any toiletries or essentials, there's a Super Wal-Mart and a Dollar General located a short drive away.

Entertainment: There's a movie theater right outside the lobby. You could walk over to it. Red Tail Run Golf Club is 7 miles away and according to the brochure, there's a park and a zoo nearby as well.

Overall: I'd definitely stay here again and I'd recommend the hotel as a good stop-over on a family trip. With girls golf at Decatur for the next four years, I'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeezyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

This Hawthorn was good, if a bit pricy. It isn't new, it isn't extremely fancy but it was clean and easy to find (if in a bit of an odd location). The room was clean and smelled good. The fixtures were good. The hallways were clean and decently bright. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was friendly.

Internet service signal strength was strong and the speed was adequate. Many restaurants in walking distance of the hotel.

My stock disclaimer: Most of the time when people write reviews for motel or hotel, they only do it when they have a bad experience. I am writing reviews of every motel I stay in to give as unbiased of a review that I can.

The reviewed here is a moderately priced hotel, and it is unrealistic to expect it to be on-par with higher end motels or resorts, so comparing it to a higher end 3 and 4 hotels is not fair... I am comparing it against its peers.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabbath999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Decatur hotels
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn Decatur Mt Zion
12.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Decatur
12.8 km away
Ramada Limited Decatur
Ramada Limited Decatur
#5 of 14 in Decatur
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
10.4 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 14 in Decatur
8 reviews
13.2 km away
Decatur Conference Center and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Decatur

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur
Address: 2370 S Mount Zion Rd, Decatur, IL 62521-9719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Decatur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Decatur
Price range (per night): $100 - $138
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Decatur Airport (DEC), the indoor movie complex, and ADM. Enjoy comfort, convenience and amenities at our Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur hotel near I- 72 and Decatur Airport. We offer comfortable, affordable accommodations whether you are with us just one night, or are planning to stay and enjoy the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Decatur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Decatur Hotel Decatur
Hawthorn Suites Decatur
Decatur Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing