We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #114 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Bloomington, Illlinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Place and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Beautiful rooms... not overly large but very adequate. Location is just what we wanted. Walking distance to many bars, restaurants and a cab ride to others. I've stayed here off and on over the years... when it was even a different hotel. LOVE the location, in the middle of a nice residential neighborhood, just around the corner from division/rush. Love it, staff always nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kasey1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    472
    189
    82
    58
See reviews for
255
361
96
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is the worst experience in Chicago I have had. We were told the only room was smoking because we booked through Priceline. I had to ask 5 times what else they could do for us. NOTHING was offered UNTIL I asked for food vouchers. This hotel doesn't even have complimentary breakfast. The 4th Floor smoking floor smells like an ashtray. Room is small and uncomfortable, TV small out dated! This is suppose to be a 3 Star hotel and it doesn't rate 2 stars. Given one queen bed for family of three. Hotel staff unfriendly and lacked customer service skills.

Room Tip: Call and confirm non smoking and two beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldad2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed 4 nights visiting my son at Depaul. Room was reasonably sized and clean. The beds were comfortable. The Red line is a few minute walk around the corner. Water Tower area is is a short walk. North Beach and Lincoln park were a little longer. but easy walk away. There are several fantastic restaurants less than a 5 minute walk away: Table Fifty Two, Chicago Q and Mario's. Yes, the TV was old, there was no refrigerator and a wider selection at the bar would have been nice, but cleanliness, convenience and a friendly staff won me over. There is no shortage of bars within close walking distance.

Room Tip: 3rd Coast Cafe--a couple of doors south on Dearborn is the hot tip for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Enjoyed the decor and style of this hotel. Parking is a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I just recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Chicago, IL. We stayed there for 2 nights, a Saturday and Sunday. The only good thing I can really say about this hotel is the location. It was only about a 10 minute walk from Michigan Ave. and had every type of restaurant/store nearby that you could want.


When we first walked in the decor was great and the lobby looked extremely nice. The staff when we checked in was not too friendly or overly nice but everyone is entitled to having a bad day. We then were told that we had a smoking room, which we were unaware of. When we stepped off of the elevator the entire floor wreaked of smoke. I have stayed in other hotels on the smoking floor and have never had this problem. When we walked into the room we noticed the decor was very cute and colorful but the size was extremely small. Not only was the room extremely small but there was a spider on the wall which had been killed and smeared across the ceiling..quite disgusting. The TV looked to be about a 19" from the late 1990's and was somewhat hard to see from the bed because it was so small. The bathroom was fine and was the most modern thing in the room, although the sink did back up when I brushed my teeth but eventually went down after a few minutes. The room was equipped with a keurig, however we were given only decaf coffee. I'm sure we could have called down and asked for regular but did not feel like going through all that and went to starbucks instead.

The worst part of my stay was the fact that the walls of this hotel are EXTREMELY thin. For approximately 30 mins we could here people in a room down the hall have sexual relations. It was absolutely disgusting and for this reason and all of the others, I will NEVER stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Mary S,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#88 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#120 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#69 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $160 - $476
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, IHG, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing