We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Chicago location at an affordable price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #50 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Chicago location at an affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

2 colleagues and I recently stayed at this Homewood Suites for a conference we attended in Chicago. The hotel was a bit dated but it was clean and the service was excellent. The continental breakfast and evening buffets left a bit to be desired but... it's free food and I am a bit of a food snob. That being said, if you are looking for a good location at a good price, I would recommend this property. It's within walking distance to several excellent restaurants as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank es252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you so much for the recommendation of our property. We make the best possible effort to make sure that our customer’s receive the wonderful customer service. Please let us know if there is anything in particular that you would like to see at on our breakfast or evening reception.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,393
    708
    220
    59
    39
See reviews for
1,000
509
117
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This past weekend I booked 22 rooms at the Homewood Suites in downtown Chicago. We visited Chicago for the University of Louisville vs DePaul Basketball game. My group was very happy and satisfied with the accomodations. They have all encouraged me to continue to stay here on future trips. The staff, rooms, breakfast, location could not have been better. Our sales manager Melah Miller was there to meet the motor coach when it arrived and did whatever was necessary to ensure that all went well for my group. THANKS!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for kind words about the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. We were so happy to see all of the fans for the Louisville – DePaul game this past weekend. It was truly a pleasure to work with your groups and we hope that you enjoyed the game.

Thank you for your wonderful words about Melah. She is an asset to our team and I am happy to hear that Melah and the rest of the team did a wonderful job with your group. We look forward to seeing you in 2014 if not before the next game.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Booked a room here recently for 9 days -- attending a conference in Chicago and wanted the freedom of a kitchen, easy access to public transportation and a safe home base. The Homewood Suites is a great value (booked online with extra discount for paying full balance in advance of arrival) and worked out well for the trip.

Great location, convenient to Red Line, taxis, Jewel/Trader Joe's for groceries (full kitchen allows one to avoid eating EVERY meal out!) and great sites/shopping within easy walk.

Wanted to try out fitness center but ended up walking all over the City! Business center printer had issues but front office staff helped to make sure I was able to print out materials I needed for a seminar. Wi-fi worked reliably -- basic cable options available with two televisions in the room (one more than I have at home!).

Great choice! Would stay again when the need arises.

Room Tip: I recommend a higher floor away from the elevators -- ask for NE or SE corners for great views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chit0wnTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
I am happy that you enjoyed your time at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. The hotel appreciates your comments on our location and accessibility to both public transportation and shopping.

I do want to thank you for the kind comments regarding the front desk and their willingness to help you print off materials.

We hope to see you when you visit Chicago again.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We found the Homewood Suites in Chicago recommended in Tripadvisor, while we planned our 2 week trip to Chicago. As we traveled as a family with two children, we wanted to stay in an apartment, with breakfast. Another criteria was a central as possible location, because we did not want to rent a car. Our choice was therefore the Homewood Suites. Overall, we were satisfied and recommend the Homewood Suites.
Service:
Prompt and helpful service!. If we asked for something, it would be provided in minutes. Housekeeping very honest. Breakfast varied and perfectly adequate for us. Dinner Monday through Thursday with included drinks was also ok.

Price-performance ratio
Purposeful three star hotel. Pool and fitness room on the top (19th) floor with great views.
Sleep quality
King-size bed in the bedroom was very good. The sofa bed was rather uncomfortable, but my children still slept well.
cleanliness
Overall very clean. Daily housekeeping of the room. Furniture dark. In our point of view the Hotel should be modernized.
location
Ingenious. Absolutely centrally located, only 50 minutes from the Magnificent Mile, right in life. And only about 10 minutes to trump tower.
room
Large living / kitchen area with sofa bed, bedroom with king-size bed and large bathroom. Dark wood and rather gloomy atmosphere (wallpaper greenish / brown / gray). Classic design.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Michael,

I am so happy that you and your family enjoyed your trip to Chicago and the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. We are happy that the suites were large enough for your family and that your children were able to enjoy a good night sleep.

I am pleased that you were able to write a review on our pool area. The hotel recently refinished the pool and I feel that it is the best view in the hotel. We do feel like the location of the Homewood Suites Chicago is wonderful and I hope you and your family enjoyed exploring the Magnificent Mile, River North, and Navy Pier.

We hope to see you again if you return to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I thought it was a decent place to stay but I probably should have looked a little harder...Breakfast is average, I would suggest going out to eat...Happy hour is a nice treat for the beer....The location is pretty good, everything is walking distance for a tourist and there are a few decent bars within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Colin,

Thank you for your review regarding our breakfast and dinner. I am sorry that you felt we were lacking in regards to these menus. If there is something particular that you would have liked to see at either meal please feel free to contact me at vkosloski@fhginc.com.

I do want to thank you for complimenting our accessibility and location within the city. We are within walking distance of 200 restaurants and drinking establishments.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in Chicago.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $146 - $466
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Homewood Suites
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing