We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or Miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Breakfast is nothing to write home about. While dinner is a nice perk, it's fairly bland. Maid service is sub-par.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Stephen,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast or dinner selections as we make every attempt to offer something for everyone. Due to peoples dietary needs and desires we always have a vegetarian option available at both breakfast and dinner. In addition, there are numerous condiments that we offer from hot sauce to ketchup every morning and evening. Please let us know if there is a specific item you feel would enhance our breakfast or dinner selections.

I want to apologize for your maid service. The hotel makes every effort to make sure that our rooms and public spaces are cleaned not only at a high standard but also at a superior level.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,558
    790
    234
    62
    44
See reviews for
1,124
563
128
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great value! Awesome service & always perfect location (from our own experiences).

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vablue122272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your compliments about our staff and the hotel. We are happy that our location was a wonderful one for you. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

After reading the reviews on the site, I stayed for three night at this hotel in late January for my first visit to Chicago. We pulled up to the front of the building where we were greeted by hotel staff who helped us unload and valet parked our car in a nearby garage. Being a hotel in the midst of downtown, the ground floor is not much more than elevators that take you up to the main lobby on the 6th Floor. The room we stayed in was on the 12th floor and had a nice view of downtown.

The room itself was a nice suite. Although not brand new, the room was clean and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable to sleep on. It may have been the best sleep I've ever got at a hotel. The kitchen area of the room was one of the highlights with enough kitchenware for the average traveler to prepare their own meals if they desired. The cleaning staff did an excellent job straightening up after us each day. The hotel offered free breakfast and the offering was great. The breakfast eggs were fantastic. If you're adding in meal costs, this was a huge plus with getting delicious, hot breakfasts cooked for us each day. They do offer a diner M-F each night but with being in a great restaurant city like Chicago, we splurged for eating out (By the way, I highly recommend the Big Bowl Thai restaurant nearby. Everything is fresh and was the best restaurant we ate at. Ginos East and Al's Beef were ok. Heaven on Seven was good too.)

The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. We made a few special requests which they were prompt in service. Location in downtown Chicago couldn't be better. You're two short blocks from Michigan Ave (Magnificant Mile) with tons of restaurants nearby within walking distance. Leave your car in the lot and take the bus where you want to go. Bus routes can take you easily to the museums, united center, willis (Sears) tower, the loop, just about any place downtown. It's the cheapest way to travel downtown and other passengers are average people.

Without question I would stay at this hotel again. In fact, this is the only hotel I'll consider until someone can show me a better place to stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: Request a room higher up for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Todd,

We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay at the centrally Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. We are happy that you enjoyed our spacious suites and full kitchens. We try to cater to all tastes during our breakfasts and dinners and are happy that you enjoyed the eggs. We take pride in our customer service and are happy that your requests were met by our employees. If you are ever in Chicago again we hope to see you.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Well located, awesome breakfast, in general I preffer this hotel out of any hotel. We love Mrs. Connie. She works in the breakfast area and she is really nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pisquena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your kind word about Connie. We truly value her here at the Homewood Suites Chicago and are always excited when our guests recognize what a wonderful person she is. We hope to see you at the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alden, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We traveled to Chicago for "Strictly Sail" at Navy Pier last weekend. Not only was the staff cheerful, but very helpful too. Starr (at the front desk) earns her name and was very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We were grateful to be able to check in a little early and check out a little late to make traveling easier. The food was great and the room was very clean. We were within walking distance of many attractions and close to the metro line for those we didn't feel like walking to. We had a great time, in large part due to the comforts of home that the Homewood Suites Downtown offered. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
We are happy that you were able to stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown for the Strictly Sail Event. Every year we have several attendees that stay at the hotel and it is a pleasure to welcome new and returning guests. Thank you for your kinds words regarding Starr. She is truly an asset to the hotel and we appreciate your acknowledgement of her in your review.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your time in Chicago and at the Homewood Suites. We hope to see you again at the Homewood Suites.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and MarketingManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): $212 - $473
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing