We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your Credit Card”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #77 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

This is not a luxury hotel so after reading some of the poor reviews that people wrote, I was wondering what they expected for the price. The value is not bad for a hotel in a nice area of Chicago. It was an older building but it was clean and there was plenty of room, bigger than the Sheraton room downtown where we also stayed and we had to wait in a long line just to check in. The bad things: The continental breakfast was not great and we had to wait for them to re stock items. I also was looking forward to having coffee in the afternoon but both days it was empty. When we got our credit card bill we were charged 20 extra for the mini bar that we didn't touch so either the house keeping staff was stealing or the hotel was trying to cheat us. They did say on the phone we would be reimbursed for the charges but check your bill! I suppose it could have been an honest mistake but I am skeptical. Also, the air conditioner kept going on and off all night and was quite loud, but things like that don't really bother me. But besides the extra charge, I thought the hotel was a good value for Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pattyv424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton H, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Patty,
Thanks for taking the time to share all of your observations regarding your experience at the Majestic Hotel. I am really sorry you had to wait for coffee and for breakfast to be restocked. We do get busy in the mornings we everybody wants to have breakfast at the same time. As goes for the credit card I spoke to you over the phone and I explained we don't do this on purpose it was a mistake that I corrected right away. All our AC are on "energy saver" and can easily be moved to regular mode so they don't get stop and start again when they get to a certain temperature. We thank you again for your honest feedback and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Roxana D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

My buddy and I stayed at the Majestic while in town for the Georgia-Notre Dame game. We also planned the trip to see the Cubs and the Bears play the Falcons. The majestic was a nice place to stay and convenient for seeing most places. I hidden little gem. fresh cookies awaited us upon arrival and breakfast in the morning. the rooms were nice and the place had more of a bed and breakfast feel to it than a hotel. Since we had early flights in and late flights out they were also accommodating at keeping our bags prior to check in and after check out so we could still see the sights.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmrubnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton H, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and for staying with us recently. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient to a variety of Chicago attractions.

Hope to see you back soon!
Roxana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Lovely check-in at Majestic Hotel. Daniel is so welcoming!!! Also, adorable building in a great neighborhood, and rooms have everything you need. This building has beautiful historic features and modern furnishings.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton H, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Jessica,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Majestic hotel during your visit to Chicago. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, we will share your compliments with Daniel.

Regards,
Roxana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

This beautiful boutique hotel is wonderful. Whenever we come to Chicago we stay here and have for years. Mona, one of the managers is fabulous! Another manager, Daniel, is absolutely great! Friendly helpful staff that will make you feel right at home.

June and Lawrence Przybysz
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton H, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Mr. and Mrs. Przybysz,
We thank you very much for your wonderful review and for mentioning Daniel. We are happy you've enjoyed your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back soon.

Best,
Roxana D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The first impression of the room was that it was very small and the window was impossible to see out of due to condensation. I was due to stay for 3 nights but checked out after one. To be fair the property was very helpful and understanding abut my change of mind.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susanbranfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton H, General Manager at Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Mrs. Branfield,
Thank you for your honest feedback. I do apologize for not meeting your expectations this time. Please let me know if travels brings you back to Chicago and I will make sure I can give you an upgrade to one of our sunny suites.

Regards,
Roxana D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#78 of 192 in Chicago
986 reviews
Lakeview
Best Western Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#110 of 192 in Chicago
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 528 W Brompton Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-1828
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $108 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the Lakeview neighborhood of Chicago, the Majestic Hotel is located on a quiet residential street just steps from Lake Michigan. Cozy and charming, the hotel is well known for it's friendly staff, who aim to make all guests feel like family. Within walking distance of Wrigley Field and the Red Line "El" train, the hotel is also a short drive from downtown Chicago, the Aragon Ballroom, Anshe Emet Synagogue, and music venues such as the Riviera Theater and the Aragon Ballroom. The hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast each morning from 7 am to 10 am, fresh baked cookies each afternoon, and includes WiFi access for each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing